Broken-hearted

Normally I would have blogged about the day’s training session hours ago, but I have been stalling. Today my heart is broken into a thousand little pieces for my friends who are hurting and trying to gather up the pieces of their own shattered hearts.

My training session was cut short unexpectedly, and I was given the opportunity to finish it later. I did make the effort to finish, but I can’t even begin to explain how difficult that was both physically and emotionally. I doubt that I was able to do as much work as my coach had planned for today, but the plan really wasn’t important compared to what else was going on.

1a. squats, high bar, a closer hand grip than usual, no knee sleeves

45 x 8, 95 x 8, 125 x 5, 155 x 5, 165 x 7…

Later on:

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 165 x 5 which was supposed to be my working weight but this set was super tough, 165 x 1 nope, not a good idea, 135 x 8, 135 x 8

1b. Spoto presses, competition grip

47 x 10, 67 x 8, 82 x 8, 92 x 8…

Later on:

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 90 x 6, 90 x 6, 90 x 7

The presses also felt tougher coming back to the gym several hours later. I used a different bar in a different rack for the second round, because I didn’t feel comfortable benching without a spotter and safeties, especially when I realized how tough the reps were feeling.

I also did two sets of 15 reps of rope face pulls at 20 pounds and a set of 10 hanging knee raises, but that’s all I could do.

The right knee is bothering me a bit since I finished that second session, but that is still a minor complaint in the grand scheme of things. Hold your loved ones close.

2 thoughts on “Broken-hearted

Leave a Reply

