Pasta & Fruit Loops

It feels like it has been a long day already, and it is only 6:30 PM. Tomorrow will undoubtedly be a much longer day, figuratively and literally, but I’m content to let tomorrow take care of itself.

We left town sometime after 10:00 this morning and arrived at our hotel shortly after 2:00 this afternoon. After checking in and grabbing a coffee, we went to the competition venue to familiarize ourselves with the route and to watch a little bit of lifting. The venue looks great, and it is barely a 7 minute drive from the hotel. As we sat and watched some deadlifts, I felt nervous energy begin to flutter inside, but it was good nervous energy! I love competing, and I think I can finally say that I am ready, mentally and physically.

As we were preparing to leave home this morning, I made two of my children give me a hug and wish me luck. My youngest son had the perfect response to my request. He said, “Don’t be ridiculous, Mother! You’re going to do just fine!” And really, I think that is one of the nicest, most encouraging things he has ever said to me in regards to any of my competitions. I will take it and run with it.

We’re back at the hotel now, having gorged on pasta at The Olive Garden. I don’t always eat a lot of pasta, but I virtually cleaned my plate tonight. Of course, I didn’t really eat much today, but don’t tell my coach! I had breakfast, then a muffin on the road, but I’m not often hungry while travelling either. And, although I do not have a bowl, spoon or milk, I do have a fun-sized box of Fruit Loops (actually 2), because Fruit Loops is my pre-competition tradition and I wouldn’t want to mess with that. No, I am not superstitious. I just like Fruit Loops! 😉

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.