Wonder Woman

Heading into my sixth powerlifting competition, I do believe that today was the very first time I have been allowed to “train” on the Friday prior to competing! I am not even joking. Actually this entire week has been a little different than the pre-competition norm, but I think it has been okay. Today wasn’t really a training session. Can you call it a training session when you don’t even break a sweat? Really it was all about going through the motions, not a lot of reps and not much weight…just practicing technique.

1. squats-low bar, without sleeves

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 125 x 5, 155 x 3

with belt: 170 x 1, 170 x 1

2. bench press, wide grip

45 x 8, 65 x 5, 85 x 5, 95 x 2, 105 x 2, 105 x 2

band pull aparts with red x 15

face pulls 20 lbs x 15, x 15, x 15

band pull aparts with orange x 15

3. deadlifts

115 x 5, 145 x 2 + 1

Now all that is left is the heavy lifting on Sunday! Compared to how I was feeling prior to Wednesday’s training session, I am feeling much better. Maybe I’m still not 100% there for this competition, but genuine excitement is definitely building and I am feeling more focused and determined. Of course, this morning I realized that I hadn’t even begun my typical “to do” lists prior to any competition or road trip. I hadn’t scanned maps to the hotel or the venue. I hadn’t given any thought to snacks, although that isn’t usually that big of a deal for me. No matter how much my coach tells me to eat during a competition, I seldom eat much of anything. But I did pick up some snacks to bring along. The big question is how many of them will I actually eat on Sunday?

My state of mind was also improved by time spent with some precious friends this afternoon. There is just something quite special about being embraced, both literally and figuratively, by people who know and get you, who love and accept you, and allow you the privilege of returning the love. I love this family as if they were my own. My kids like to tease me that my favourite children belong to this family. I trust that my kids know just how deeply I love them, but yes, I do love these little girls. Time spent with them is time well spent; it brings joy to my soul. This wonderful family blessed me with a special gift today, and I love it absolutely!

wonderwomanbag

It is a handmade bag with Wonder Woman inside and out! Anyone who knows me can tell you that I am a big Wonder Woman fan, so there can be no doubt as to how much I love this bag! To be honest, I’m amazed that I was able to open this gift without shedding a single tear, but I think it helped that my dear friend started crying before I had even begun opening the package! Noticing her tears brought laughter to my heart, but now that I am home, remembering the moment and storing these treasures in my heart, I just might be crying. I’m allowed.

And now I feel like I might be ready for Provincials. I transferred the necessities from my gym bag to my new Wonder Woman bag. It’s a bit of a tight fit, but I made it work. If I can pick 300 pounds up off the floor, then I think I can fit 2 pairs of shoes, a belt, a singlet, and some socks into a bag! This bag is coming to Provincials with me, and it is going to be very well used and loved.

I haven’t decided yet whether or not I am going to bring my laptop with me tomorrow. We’re heading to Surrey tomorrow and competition, for me, is on Sunday. We’re only staying the Saturday night and heading back after I compete, which means Sunday could be a very long day. I might bring it with me…will give me something to do in the hotel Saturday night, but I probably won’t post a competition update until Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

