Shining Above You

Chiquitita, you and I know
How the heartaches come and they go and the scars they’re leaving
You’ll be dancing once again and the pain will end
You will have no time for grieving
Chiquitita, you and I cry
But the sun is still in the sky and shining above you
Let me hear you sing once more like you did before
Sing a new song, Chiquitita
Try once more like you did before
Sing a new song, Chiquitita

I had this ABBA song on repeat all the way home from the gym tonight, because I love the words and they just fit. The past few days have been full of ups and downs…well actually, the past few weeks! Today was a better day all around, and today’s training session was probably the best of the week. A good training session can really turn a bad mood around; however, a frustrating training session just makes a bad mood darker.

1a. squats, low bar, with knee sleeves

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 165 x 3

with belt: 185 x 3, 205 x 1, 215 x 2

These felt good today! I stuck with my usual hand position this time. I’m not sure if the wider hand position was to blame for the shoulder issues on Monday, but there was no issue with the shoulders at all today!

255 pounds for a carry out and 10 second hold

This felt a little bit heavy. I was probably too upright, because it felt like the bar was going to slip. Michael had moved the safeties up very high. When my 10 seconds had passed, he said I could squat to the safeties if I wanted, but I declined although I really wanted to do it. With the way the bar felt like it was going to slip, I didn’t feel comfortable trying to squat even that teensy bit.

1b. bench press, my wider grip

43 x 8, 63 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 115 x 2

with slingshot: 135 x 4, 135 x 2 or 3?

The first slingshot set wasn’t very pretty, but each rep got a little better than the one before. Michael and I both knew that the slingshot wasn’t quite properly set on my left elbow, but we both kept it to ourselves and proceeded. I don’t remember if I did 2 reps and failed on the third or if I did 3 and failed on the fourth. Doesn’t really matter anyway.

105 x 3

2. GHD sit-ups

x 15

That set was easy, so Michael challenged me to better his own effort of 10 reps with a 10kg kettlebell. I will take that challenge any day!

10kg x 11

Ha! It’s always a good feeling to beat your coach, even though I know that there is really very little that I can actually beat him at, at least in the gym!

One thought on “Shining Above You

Leave a Reply

