Aches & Pains

Since I am laying here staring at my laptop and zoning out when I am trying to compose a blog post, I guess I will just get right down to the training session details.

1a. squats, low bar, knee sleeves

warm-up: 45 x 8, 12kg kettlebell goblet squats x 8, 45 x 8

Michael had me do a warm up set with the bar, then the goblet squats and back to the bar. I’ve been having some issues with the back of my right knee, and he wanted to see how each felt. The goblet squats presented the most discomfort, but it was still not too bad.

95 x 5, 125 x 5, 155 x 5, 175 x 5

I was consciously making an effort to expand my chest more before beginning my squat, and I did notice a difference in my squats as a result. There was less of a sticking point! I also experimented with my hand position…not sure if that was a good idea or not though. I began to feel some uncomfortable pressure in my left shoulder during my last few sets.

with belt: 195 x 3, 205 x 2, 205 x 3

185 x 3 definitely not as good looking or feeling as last Friday’s back down sets at the same weight and I think the left shoulder is the reason

1b. bench press, my wide grip

43 x 8, 63 x 8, 83 x 5, 105 x 5, 110 x 3, 110 x 3, 110 x 3

Spoto presses with pause 1 cm off my chest:

95 x 5 x 2 sets

2. reverse hypers

50 lbs x a bunch

I’ve been having some mild pain and discomfort in my lower left back. It doesn’t bother me too much, but there is definitely tenderness and I can palpate the area and feel that something is not the same as on the other side. There always seems to be something…

Leave a Reply

