The Morning After

At yesterday’s appointment, my chiropractor gave me the green light to put the safety bar away and return to a real barbell for back squats once again, so long as I stuck with a low bar position. His life was spared, although I really don’t think he took my threat seriously. I’m not sure why he wouldn’t, but I am looking forward to doing some proper squats on Friday.

This morning’s training session was actually better than I thought it would be. I didn’t sleep very well last night. I was up very late for a Tuesday night. Although Tuesdays are essentially my Fridays, I am typically in bed around 9:00, because the early work days take their toll. Last night I didn’t get to bed until after 11, not even sure what time exactly. By 3:00, I was constantly waking up, like every half hour until I finally dragged myself out of bed at 6:30. I also had a little too much wine last night, so I’ve got a bit of a headache and some funky head spin.

1a. front squats

with flat shoes (because I wasn’t thinking): 43 x 6, 73 x 6, 103 x 5

with squat shoes: 125 x 5 x 3 sets

Despite how I was feeling, the front squats felt pretty good. The last set was probably the best and the fastest. I did have a little bit of back of the right knee pain coming out of the hole, but it was minor and not much of an issue.

1b. close grip bench press

43 x 8, 63 x 6, 83 x 6, 100 x 5, 110 x 4

with slingshot: 125 x 3, 125 x 5, 130 x 3, misgrooved the 4th rep and needed assistance, thought I could still get a 5th rep but couldn’t

130 x 5 much better set!

2a. rope face pulls + rows

30 lbs x 12 + 8-10?, 30 x 15 + 12, 30 x 12 + 10

I jumped up to 30 pounds for the face pulls the last time I did them, so I was all ready to go with it again today. As soon as I began to pull the first rep and found myself struggling to pull and to keep myself from being pulled forward, I wondered how I got so weak. Was it the wine? Was last time a fluke? Then Michael realized that it was actually set at 40 pounds! Ha! It’s amazing the difference that 10 pounds can make on tiny muscles.

2b. chin ups, neutral grip with small green band

2 sets of 7

I survived! In all honesty, it wasn’t too bad. My skipping warm-up was actually decent. My cardio levels felt rather challenged, and the head was definitely spinning a few times; however, the body still felt decent.

 

Leave a Reply

