Upper Body Change Up

After yesterday’s chiro and a few glasses of wine in the evening, my headache almost disappeared by the time I went to bed last night! I was still almost headache-free when I woke up this morning, which is probably the best my head has felt since the box attack. There is still a spot in my neck that doesn’t feel good or right, but it is more of a nuisance than an issue. I am so excited by how decent I feel today…so far! Seriously, it feels like I am walking out of a deep, dark tunnel into warm daylight.

1a. front squats

without belt: 45 x 10, 75 x 6, 95 x 6, 115 x 6, 125 x 6

with belt: 125 x 6, 125 x 6, 125 x 6

It’s been a while since I have done front squats. These felt fine and good, but my wrists definitely weren’t used to being bent that way and I sounded like an asthmatic with every rep. Normally I am able to undo my belt without too much difficulty, but I sure struggled to remove it after each set this morning. The first time I thought it was just a fluke. As I struggled after the second set, I realized that my problem was likely due to my wrists feeling strained and weak following the front squats, leaving me unable to adequately grab hold of and pull on the belt to unbuckle it. Of course, knowing what the problem was didn’t make it any easier to get the belt undone after the final set. Super Coach to the rescue!

1b. incline bench press, my typical competition grip

43 x 10, 63 x 6, 83 x 5, 73 x 6, 75 x 6, 75 x 6, 75 x 6, 75 x 6

It has also been some time since I last did incline bench, so I kind of forgot that I am not as strong with the incline as I am flat on the bench. That is why I jumped to 83 pounds. The first two sets were easy, and I am used to taking that kind of a jump for my regular presses. Michael thought I was being optimistic, because he remembered that I am weaker on the incline. He let me try it anyway. The fifth rep was a struggle, but I am confident that I got it without Michael assisting. He seemed to think that he helped, but I had my eye on the bar. His hands were hovering awfully close, but I really don’t think he actually touched it. Honestly, I think I misgrooved the rep, but Michael dropped the weight a bit for my working sets, and they were fairly decent. Even though it has been a while, I do believe that my technique and bar path was much better this time. It felt more natural and smooth.

2a. glute-ham raises

x 10ish, x 12

Just got to say that these were painful on the quads, especially the first set before Michael moved the setting back a bit. It was like foam rolling your quads with a full-blown case of DOMS. So much fun!

2b. biceps curls, with wrists bent back

6kg kettlebells x 12, x 12

I love curls. I love curls. I love curls.

2c. toes to bar, forward grip

x 6, x 4

I did these on a different bar than usual, not sure if that really mattered, but my hands were also sweaty. Definitely not my best toes to bar.

 

Leave a Reply

