No Crying in Powerlifting

My coach almost made me cry before I even started training this afternoon. Naturally he asked how I was feeling, and I really had no choice but to be honest. I left work early, because I was in so much pain; however, a few hours of laying on my living room floor had eased the pain down to something much more manageable. At work I had the full meal deal with a nasty headache, sore neck and an upper back that was killing me. By the time I left for the gym, the headache had settled to a moderate level and the back was feeling perfectly fine. The neck wasn’t perfect, but it wasn’t actively hurting. I can tell that my neck still isn’t right, but I can put it through most movements without too much bother…except when I am at work. But Michael questioned the wisdom of training, wondering if training was going to cause more damage. He wanted my honesty. I wanted to cry. I understand his concern. I even appreciate it, really! I think he knows me well enough to realize that I will stubbornly push through, but I’d like to think that I would respect my limits if it was actually necessary. The stuff that I do at the gym doesn’t make my neck hurt more. It doesn’t make the headache worse. But, if it will make him feel better, I will ask my chiropractor tomorrow what he thinks. I am of the belief that my chiro would tell me if he thought training was inflicting more harm, because he did exactly that with running. Of course, maybe he is scared of me, scared to tell me NOT to train, but I doubt it. He did tell me that regular barbell squats wouldn’t be a good idea.

1a. squats, with safety bar, no sleeves, widening my stance just a little

without belt: 75 x 8, 115 x 6, 145 x 6, 165 x 6

with belt: 165 x 4 + 2

This set was tough. My stance felt too wide and my belt felt too loose. I had to fight to keep my balance on the fourth rep and took a step forward as a result. I racked the bar, tightened the belt and made sure my stance was a bit better before finishing the final two reps. Sometimes finishing the reps after a disruption like that can be a struggle, but those last two reps were pretty good.

165 x 6

This set was better; in fact, I think it was probably the best of the three at 165.

The safety bar is not a favourite. It is tough. It wants to throw you around, and I could definitely feel my upper back working hard. Perhaps I felt that more because my upper back was so sore at work this morning, but this was a different feeling. Not pain…just effort.

1b. bench press, wider grip 1″ from outer ring, touch and go except for first set

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 85 x 8, 95 x 8, 100 x 8, 100 x 8

These felt pretty good, even with the wider grip.

2a. split squats, with safety bar

95 x 8 each x 2 sets

These really suck when your legs are quivering like a bowl full of jelly in the middle of an earthquake, but I think the second set was marginally better than the first.

2b. face pulls

20 x 15

 

 

Leave a Reply

