The Boxing Match

A ‘not-so’ funny thing happened at work yesterday morning. A box fell on my head and neck. I was up on a ladder, reaching for a box of dry soup mix packages, bent a little with neck craned in an effort to read the label on the box. My left arm was extended overhead to ensure that the box didn’t fall off of the end of the small shelf over the office door, but instead the box fell forward, essentially hitting the left side of my head and neck before landing on my shoulder. For the record, I caught the box and did not fall off the ladder! Thankfully the box wasn’t super big or heavy, but it was enough to leave me hurting. A headache began almost instantly, and the neck definitely wasn’t feeling so great. As the day progressed, my body only felt worse. The head, the neck, upper and lower back…I just hurt. Of course, it was also a statutory holiday, which meant that I had to wait until today to call my chiropractor. I was in bed even earlier than normal last night, before 7:00, but naturally I didn’t sleep well. I woke up feeling slightly better, but that didn’t last very long. Right before starting work, I took a couple of Ibuprofen, more out of a desire to be proactive than absolute need, because I don’t really like taking pain killers; however, it didn’t take long for the headache and the pain to explode. I was able to leave work 3.5 hours early, and laying on the floor at home eased some of the back and neck pain.

Thankfully, my chiropractor was able to see me this afternoon. He is reasonably confident that I shall live. That’s a relief! Ha! As expected, there were less than comfortable manipulations and adjustments, but I definitely felt some relief by the time I walked out the door. The headache remained, and the soreness might not completely go away for a little while. But the biggest disappointment was when he said that squatting might not be a good idea, especially with a regular bar. Super sad face for Angela! He did say that I could possibly use a safety bar, so long as I didn’t push it too much. Hmmm…maybe my chiropractor doesn’t know me as well as I thought! If you leave the door open for me even just a little, I am going to want to squeeze my way through. Especially since I have a competition in a month!

1a. safety bar squats, no sleeves

75 x 8, 105 x 8, 135 x 8, 165 x 5, 145 x 8, 155 x 6

The first three sets were good and fine and easy. The last three sets were all supposed to be sets of 8, but it didn’t quite work out that way. The set at 165 just didn’t feel right on my shoulders. It wasn’t pain or anything like that, just not sure the bar was sitting where I wanted it and it felt tough. Michael had to remind me that the safety bar will feel tough; I always seem to forget. He dropped the weight, and I was able to do all the reps. Upped the weight a little. It was my call to stop at 6 reps, and the fact that I did chafes a little bit. I hate dropping reps. I don’t like being hurt either. I suppose sometimes you just need to work within the limits your body presents with or find ways to work around or through them. This is a small set-back; it won’t be forever.

1b. bench press, with fat bar, using a wide grip

71 x 8, 91 x 8, 96 x 8, 96 x 8, 96 x 4+4, 96 x 7

The broken up set at 96 pounds was a result of hitting the rack on the fourth rep. I had to reposition myself before finishing the set. There seems to be something about using the fat bar that messes up my positioning on the bench, even though I think I set myself up the same as I do for any other bench press. Still, these presses were pretty darn good, I think. The fat bar felt slightly less awkward this week, but I was likely also subconsciously determined that my bench would be awesome since my squat wasn’t.

2a. split squats with safety bar

75 x 10 each leg, 95 x 10 each, 95 x 10 each

I had a couple of balance issues with a few of the reps, but I increased the weight and the volume compared to last week! Improvement is always good, and the safety bar likely made them feel even more difficult than usual.

2b. Spoto press with 2 second pause, with fat bar and fully wide grip

71 x 8, 81 x 8, 86 x 8

For either the second or third set, I completely forgot to use any leg drive. Well, I actually realized I wasn’t using it midway through the set, but I just kept going without it. The lack of leg drive didn’t seem to hinder me at all. These were actually better than I expected, better than Michael likely expected, too! Like I’ve said before, I don’t like dropping reps or sets or taking it easy because a stupid box fell on my head. If I have to take it easy, I’ll take it easy, but I won’t like it and I will do my best to nail what I can do.

2c. rope face pulls

one set of 15 at 20 pounds

I have to say that I am quite liking how the face pulls feel, and I am even half-tempted to take a little jump in weight. I think. I’d probably regret it, but hey, it is something that I can do without restriction right now! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

