Prom

The past couple of weeks have been a bit of a blur. While time seemed to move slowly as if through thick fog last week, this week has been a whirlwind. Was it only a week ago that I was competing on the platform? Seriously! I was really rather lost and muddled at work today, unsure of which day of the week it actually was and constantly feeling out of sorts. Where has the time gone? It feels like I have hardly been at work so far in May, and that probably isn’t too far from the truth. Yesterday was a busy but exciting day as we celebrated my daughter’s prom.

Many likely wouldn’t realize that there is a part of me that is all girl. Maybe not quite the princess but definitely girly. I have always loved Barbie and all of her dresses and shoes. I have had a shoe fetish since I was in my teens, but I very seldom indulge that part of me. Comfortable feet are of much more importance than a sexy pair of stilettos, although I’ll still drool all over them. Fashion and style are not things that I am known for, and for good reason as I have neither; however, I love a beautiful outfit. My favourite part of any celebrity awards show is seeing the dresses. I love nail polish and funky earrings, too. I like to bake, sometimes to cook, sometimes to attempt crafts.

And yet, I am most comfortable in a pair of jeans or yoga pants, preferably barefoot or with flipflops. I can style my hair in one of two ways: a ponytail or simply unstyled! The only make-up that I wear almost religiously is eye-liner. There are calluses on my palms and bruises and scrapes on my legs. I am often more comfortable hanging out with guys than with a bunch of women. I enjoy action movies as much as I do rom-coms, and I love watching baseball, hockey, football, powerlifting, and Olympic sports, like boxing, wrestling, and track. My bookshelves are filled with an eclectic array of books, from Dr. Seuss to sci-fi, from historical fiction to historical non-fiction, classic literature to fantasy, medical/crime scene fiction to hard-hitting, shoot ’em up action fiction. I read it all. I am competitive. I don’t mind breaking a sweat or getting dirty or throwing a ball around. As much as I can be girly, really, mostly I am not.

Knowing this about myself, I was kind of dreading this prom week, thinking that it would tax my patience and sanity. I was wrong.

Yesterday was a long day, but I am so glad that I took the day off work to spend it with my daughter, preparing for prom. I picked up her corsage first thing in the morning, while she had stayed home and had a bath. The florist shop was a busy place first thing in the morning, and I couldn’t help but catch the excitement that was swirling in the shop. Then we went to get Abby’s hair and make-up done. Oh my! When she was finished there, we went for lunch. We were only home for a short while before putting on the dress and corsage, then we were off to take some pictures with her best friend. Between photos and the grand parade, we stopped for drinks at a coffee shop. Then more photos downtown with classmates and friends¬†before the grand parade, and what a parade it was!

My daughter was absolutely stunning! You know it’s funny, but I am far more emotional about it all today than I was yesterday! While on my break today, I started reading a comment from my daughter’s best friend and I nearly lost it. Tears sting my eyes every time I start thinking about yesterday, how beautiful my daughter was (and is), and how proud I am of her. So that will be the end of this post, because I need to go eat something and choke back more tears.

Leave a Reply

