Sumo vs. Skin

Today would normally be a rest day, but I cannot train tomorrow unless I really wanted to upset my daughter. Tomorrow is prom, and I will be spending the day picking up a corsage, watching my daughter get all glammed up, taking photos, trying not to bawl, and watching her parade along the boardwalk with her friends and classmates. I think that is more important than sticking to my training schedule; I’m just glad my competition didn’t fall on the same day!

I had another horrible sleep last night, which means I’ve had only one half-decent sleep over the past week. That also happens to be about the same time that I ran out of ZMA (zinc, magnesium and B6). Coincidence? Maybe…so I made sure to pick some up today!

Michael was able to fit me in for training early this morning. I slept poorly, was up early, and I only managed to drink half a cup of coffee. So, when Michael said to do some skipping as part of my warm-up, I wasn’t the least bit surprised. He turned to me with a smirk as if he could read my thoughts. Somehow I knew that he was going to make me skip this morning, because he says it can be a good indicator of how well the nervous system is firing and I didn’t think that mine was going to perform too well. But, I did better than I thought I would, only tripping up once. It’s the cardio that’s going to kill me!

1a. deadlifts, sumo

95 x 8, 135 x 6, 165 x 6, 185 x 1 testing mixed grip and it was fairly balanced

with straps: 185 x 6, with a dowel x 10ish (no straps obviously), 100 x 4-6ish (no straps), 195 x 5, 185 x 5, 185 x 6

It’s been a while since I’ve done sumo deadlifts, and I have always competed with a conventional stance; however, we are going to try sumo for a while and possibly give it a try at Provincials. The dowel set was for practice at pushing my knees back more quickly, and the set at 100 pounds, done with the bar I was using for floor presses, was to practice that technique before jumping right back to a heavier weight.

1b. floor presses

63 x 8 with my regular competition grip

83 x 8 widening my grip a bit more, 93 x 8, 100 x 6, 100 x 5

With the exception of that first set, these were all done with a wider grip than I have been using. I think this grip was roughly 1.5-2 inches inside of the outer ring. See, I’m learning from my mistakes, and I have changed my visual for setting up my hands. The wider grip felt okay, a little more of the chest but not in a bad way. My shoulders were fine. The first few sets were done under constant tension, while the last set was with a pause for each rep.

2a. dips

x 7 with blue band

x 4 with orange band

This was the first time that I have ever used such a small band for dips. I’m fairly certain I did several reps without a band a while back, but my coach was giving my feet a bit of a push on every rep, so I can’t yet say that I can do unassisted dips. However, that orange band gives hardly any assistance at all! I was surprised to get 4 reps in all honesty.

x 6 with orange band

Look at that…two extra reps! 🙂

2b. Romanian deadlifts with a sumo stance, with straps

135 x 12?, 155 x 10

Michael wanted me to keep the bar against my legs throughout each rep. I think I did a decent job of that, but each rep of the second set felt a bit more painful due to the skin of my knees and thighs being scraped by the knurling on the bar! The socks only go so high, although the knurling can sometimes bite through the socks. It’s only skin, right?

 

 

Leave a Reply

