Back in the Saddle Again

With my next competition only 40 days away, there really isn’t enough time to take a breather with the training. This isn’t an ideal timeline, I know, but I’m not afraid to put in the work. At least I don’t need to cut weight this time!

1a. bench press, competition grip

43 x 8 using fat grips

using a fat bar, touch and go with a pause only on the last rep:

71 x 8, 81 x 8, 91 x 8, 96 x 8, 96 x 8

1b. squats, high bar, with knee sleeves, relatively fast reps

93 x 8, 123 x 8, 143 x 8, 155 x 8, 175 x 8

These were moving fairly well. The final set was a bit slower, except the final rep was faster than the even the earlier reps.

Between the bench and the squats, I was definitely breathing hard and feeling rather wiped out. I knew I’d be in for some “cardio” type training today, as it seems to be tradition following a competition.

2a. barbell split squats

83 x 10 each leg x 2 sets

Oh my word! How sore are my glutes going to be tomorrow?

2b. TRX rows

2 sets of 15

2c. flat dumbbell presses

35 x 6, 29 x 10

I may have questioned my coach, when he presented me with the 35 pound dumbbells. He told me that I had just bench pressed 96 pounds and this was only 70 pounds. Dumbbells aren’t always my friends, and I was feeling pretty beat up by this point. However, I think the hardest part was actually laying down on the bench, because my lower back is still quite sore from the competition. The first set wasn’t as tough as I thought it would be, but Michael dropped the weight for the second set and pointed out a flaw in my right elbow positioning. The second set was much better.

I am hoping to get out for a walk after work tomorrow, no matter how sore I may feel by then. I am really hoping, expecting the lower back to begin to feel better; however, my legs might start feeling worse.

Leave a Reply

