Last Day in the Gym

This morning was my final training session before the competition on Saturday, although I feel hesitant to call it an actual training session. This is my deload week after all. I wasn’t sure what Michael would let me do this morning, but I didn’t even bother putting on my squat shoes. My training log page looks quite bare, too. It’s all good though…just part of the process.

1. squats, low bar with flat shoes

45 x 6, 95 x 5, 115 x 3, 135 x 1, 135 x 1

These were super easy. The flat shoes didn’t seem to present any issues; in fact, they felt kind of good. Of course, there was really nothing physically taxing about these sets or weights.

2a. rope face pulls

20 lbs x 15 x 4 sets

2b. bench press, competition grip, with flat shoes

43 x 6, 63 x 5, 83 x 3, 83 x 3

Easy peasy.

And that was the end of my training session. 😉

The water load is going well, perhaps too well. My coach might be a little stressed out about my weight, not wanting me to lose too much and wanting me to be able to recoup enough weight after the weigh-in. It feels very scientific and complicated, although it probably isn’t quite so difficult as that implies. At least I don’t have to cut my food intake and do the water-loading!

 

Leave a Reply

