Bodyweight Goals

I experienced another rush of adrenaline as I drove to the gym this morning. Ten days out from competition. Having already done my final heavy squats and deadlifts and knowing that my final heavy bench will be Friday, I wasn’t completely sure what to expect from today’s training session.

1a. rope face pulls

supinated grip: 20 lbs x 15 x 3 sets

pronated grip: 20 lbs x 15 x 3 sets

1b. chest-supported rows, strict

45 lbs x 12, 70 lbs x 10 x 5 sets

1c. bench press, close grip

45 lbs x 8, 65 x 8, 85 x 5, 105 x 5

with slingshot: 120 x 3, 135 x 3, 140 x 3 PR

My bench was moving well today. The first slingshot triple was good. Before I did the triple at 135, we talked about controlling the eccentric, so I groove the pattern correctly, and that was a good set. I think my coach was in a good mood today, because he let me attempt a few PRs today. I’m kidding. He’s always in a good mood; however, he doesn’t always let me attempt PRs. I understand the reason behind his decisions, and I accept them. Sometimes when he does let me make an attempt, I feel a measure of fear. I don’t think I felt too afraid today. The triple at 140 felt decent, so Michael asked if I wanted to try a single at 150. Oh yeah, I did!

with slingshot: 150 x 1 PR and it felt good. That was awfully close to my bodyweight…should we match my weight? Yes indeed!

with slingshot: 153.75 x 1 PR which is actually just over a pound more than my bodyweight! I am super stoked. I don’t think I’ve mentioned it on my blog, but I have a little notebook of goals, mostly long-term, and being able to bench press my bodyweight is written in it. I had a little bit of assistance with the slingshot, but I’m getting closer to that goal and my bench is seeing improvement. Gotta be happy about that!

a backdown set without the slingshot 115 x 3…and man, was that tough! lol

2. seated neutral grip pulldowns

80 lbs x 12, x 10, x 12, x 10

3a. triceps extensions with bar

30 lbs x 15, 40 x 8

These are so much easier with the bar instead of the rope!

3b. barbell curls

35 lbs x 15, x 12

 

 

Leave a Reply

