Invincible

Two weeks. By this time two weeks from now, it should all be over except for the celebrating (or crying). I am so ready and excited for this competition, but I still need to take each day as it comes. Today is Saturday, which means that the work day sucked the life out me, chewed up my empty shell of a body and spit it back out. If you’ve seen the movie The Dark Crystal, I feel very much like a podling who has had her life essence drained.

My daughter wanted to go shopping after work as she is in need of shoes for prom in a few weeks; however, after the work day, the mall was absolutely the last place on earth I wanted to be. Despite feeling wiped out, I knew I needed to go for a walk. I needed to clear my head of the work day and spend some time to just listen to my music and visualize the competition. It was good to do that, but I wasn’t really expecting to be fighting back tears during one song. Well, I guess I shouldn’t be that surprised; it has happened before!

The song? Invincible by Hedley.

 

Took a long hard look at my life.
Lost my way while I was fighting the time.
A big black cloud, stormy sky
Followed me while I was living a lie.
So heartless, so selfish, so in darkness,
When all your nights are starless,
You’re running outta hope.

But I found the strength inside to see,
Found the better part of me,
And I’ll never let it go.

I’ve come a long, long way,
Made a lot of mistakes,
But I’m breathing, breathing,
That’s right
And I mean it, mean it
This time
I’m a little run down,
I’ve been living out loud.
I can beat it, beat it,
That’s right,
’cause I’m feeling, feeling,
Invincible.
Whoa-oh-oh-oh [x3]

When you’re gone for a day on your own,
Tear your heart out just to find your way home.
I’ve been so high, I’ve sunk so low,
I’ve come so far with nothing to show
For it mistaken, I got so good at taking,
But now I’m tired of faking.
This story’s getting old.

So I found the strength inside to see,
Found the better part of me,
And I’ll never let it go.

I’ve come a long, long way,
Made a lot of mistakes,
But I’m breathing, breathing,
That’s right
And I mean it, mean it.
This time
I’m a little run down,
I’ve been living out loud.
I can beat it, beat it,
That’s right,
’cause I’m feeling, feeling,
Invincible.
Whoa-oh-oh-oh [x3]
Invincible.

I’m not the only one,
To crash into the sun and live to fight another day.
Like a super nova, that old life is over.
I’m here to stay.

The next two weeks are going to fly by, I think, and I suspect that my emotions are going to be riding a roller-coaster. But I’m breathing! (Ha! That’s what I tell my coach and my chiropractor.) Today I am tired. I typically have 2 cups of coffee a day. On a day off, I might have 3 cups. This morning, I had 2 cups of coffee before I even started work at 6:00, and I’ve had 2 more since then. I still feel tired and run down. Thankfully, tomorrow is a new day.

One thought on “Invincible”

Leave a Reply

