The Last Heavy

Weigh-in is in two weeks! Do you know what that means? It means that today was my last heavy deadlift day before the competition. By this time next week, all the heavy training will be done, and I will be restricted to going through the motions and drinking enough water to float myself all the way to Argentina. It’s getting real.

1. deadlifts

deficit, without belt: 135 x 5, 165 x 5

no deficit, with belt: 195 x 3 + 1, 225 x 1 + 1, 245 x 1, 265 x 1, 275 x 1 gym PR

245 x 3

These weren’t too bad. The additional singles at 195 and 225 pounds were simply to work on technique. I need to avoid having “thigh gap”, as in the bar needs to be closer to my body. It isn’t very often that I go very heavy in the gym with deadlifts, so it is quite likely that the last time I did 265 pounds in training, aside from last week, was two weeks prior to my previous competition last October. I have never deadlifted more than 265 pounds in the gym…only in competition. Today’s single at 265 felt decent, and I’m happy to have set a new PR for a gym deadlift.

2a. floor press, competition grip

75 x 6, 95 x 5

with slingshot: 115 x 3, 135 x 1.5, 125 x 5

The second slingshot set started out okay, but my positioning was off at the start of the second rep to the point that I could not finish.

2b. face pulls with rope

20 lbs x 15 x 4 sets

Surprisingly, I actually enjoyed these today!

2c. glute-ham raises

4 sets of 10

 

Leave a Reply

