Staying Focused

Competition is in 17 days, and I am feeling good. I don’t have to worry about my weight. Not really. Yes, I still need to make weight on the day, but my weight is at the point now where I know that I will be able to drop it when needed during that final week. I can eat more calories these days, which means I’m less hangry and less stressed thinking about what I eat. Training is going well and basically on track. My body is feeling as good as it possibly can at this point in my peaking program. I’m sleeping well, some nights better than others, but I still manage to get enough. Perhaps most importantly, my head is in a good place right now! I can still visualize making that lift, and it always makes my heart race. I am ready! Well, first I need to finish my peaking program and enjoy my deloading of the weights and loading of the water!

1a. chest-supported rows

45 x 9, 70 x 10 + 45 x 8 or 9 shrugs, 70 x 10 + 45 x 10, 70 x 10 + 45 x 10, 70 x 10 + 45 x 10

My chest-supported rows haven’t been very strict over the last number of weeks, but this morning Michael wanted them strict. He also tacked on some shrugs at the end of each set.

1b. close grip bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 85 x 4, 100 x 4, 110 x 4

115 x 1 close grip, 115 x 1 with my grip 1″ wider than my close grip

115 x 3, 115 x 3, 115 x 2

I was going for three reps on that final set, but I brought the bar down much too low on my chest and couldn’t recover.

2. lat pulldowns, underhand grip

80 x 9, 90 x 10, 90 x 10

3a. concentration curls

10 lbs x 20? each

I kind of forgot to count the reps when I started with my left arm, but I know I did a lot. When I switched to my right arm, I counted but stopped at 20 based on a similarity in the feeling of fatigue.

15 lbs with fat grip x 8 left, 10 right

3b. single arm dumbbell press

25 lbs x 8 each, 25 x 7 + 1 left, 8 right

That left arm just doesn’t want to cooperate all the time! It stalled on the eighth rep of the last set. Michael made a comment about not expecting that to happen today. I put the dumbbell back in my left hand and did one more rep. Of course, the right side didn’t really have any problems with the required number of reps.

3c. triceps rope pulldowns

30 lbs x 9, 25 lbs x 9

I didn’t know what the weight was when I started the first set. As I was struggling to get through that set, I was trying to eyeball the weights being pulled up by the cable. I thought it might have been set at 20 pounds, and I was a little frustrated at the thought that I was having so much trouble with such a light weight. Realizing it was actually 30 pounds was of slight comfort but not too much. Michael dropped the weight to 25 pounds for the next set, because he wanted a rep range of 10-20. Yeah…that didn’t work out so well. My triceps seem to be the most pathetic muscles around! Michael made a comment questioning why my bench has become much more solid when I have weak triceps and a weak chest. I do not know!

Immediately following my training session, I changed shoes and went for a wonderful hike with a friend, my coach’s amazing wife!

One thought on “Staying Focused”

Leave a Reply

