3 Weeks and a Day

In three weeks, I will have been weighed in and begun the process of replenishing my body with food, but today is still just a training day.

1a. deadlifts, deficit

Without belt: 135 x 5, 165 x 4 + 1, 195 x 3

With belt: 225 x 1, 245 x 1, 265 x 0

The 265 started to move, but the lower back didn’t feel quite right so I gave up on it. As frustrating as it is to miss a rep, especially at this point in preparation for competition, but I’d also rather play it safe than sorry so I can compete in a few weeks! We removed the deficit and dropped the weight.

No deficit, with belt: 245 x 1, 255 x 1, 265 x 1

245 x 2, 225 x 3

1b. floor press, competition grip

43 x 10, 65 x 5, 85 x 5, 105 x 4, 105 x 4, 105 x 2

2. ab wheel

6 sets of 7 reps with my rest between sets only as long as it took my training buddy to do her set of 7 reps. I think my abs might be sore tomorrow.

So, I was kind of expecting to hit a 270 pound deadlift today, but we didn’t even go there. My coach has told me not to overthink it, that it isn’t really a big deal. I’m sure I could have done it today. It is a little disappointing, but I expect that I won’t lose any sleep over it. All I have to do is look back to just over a year ago as I prepared for my second competition. My deadlifts in the gym had felt so tough, and I had so many issues with my technique. In fact, if I look at my training log roughly 3 weeks prior to that competition, I missed my “heavy” deadlift single at 250 pounds. I wrote in my log that it wasn’t a strength issue…it was form. “DON’T SWEAT IT!” If I looked back at my blog posts from that time, I’m sure that my frustration with my deadlift would be quite evident. I went into that competition believing that my deadlift was going absolutely nowhere, that it would be a challenge to better my previous best deadlift. As a result of my frustration and lack of confidence, I played it safe with my attempts, even though my coach knew that I was capable of doing more. I learned a valuable lesson that day. My competition deadlifts are always going to feel easier than what I do in the gym. There are likely many reasons for that, including the atmosphere and adrenaline, but knowing that the platform is where I shine has helped me to accept the frustration in the gym, to take it in and use it as fuel on my internal fire. I’ve never deadlifted 270 pounds in the gym before…only in competition. Yes, I was looking forward to setting a new gym PR today, because those deadlift PRs don’t come very often. But I am okay with NOT attempting it. I trust my coach; he knows his stuff. Besides, does it really matter if I hit 270 pounds today? When I deadlift my goal in three weeks will I really be upset that I didn’t get to do 270 today? No way!

 

Leave a Reply

