Sunny Days

Competition is 24 days away, and, at least for today, all feels right in my world. The weather is sunny and hot. I am happy with where my weight is and confident that it will be where I need it to be when I need to weigh in. Training is going as planned. My knee has been feeling good. I think I’ve managed to lock those potentially damaging thoughts up tight, and I’m just going to focus on doing what I need to do. I trained first thing this morning and then went for my walk before the temperature climbed too high. And, I just finished my lunch! Hey! These days, I am always in a better mood after I’ve eaten.

1a. chest supported rows

45 x 12, 90 x 12, 90 x 10, 100 x 10, 100 x 10, 90 x 10

These were decent but felt a bit tough today. I’ve noticed that the chest supported rows tend to alternate tough and easy each week. I guess that just happens sometimes.

1b. close grip bench press

45 x 10, 65 x 7, 85 x 6, 100 x 4, 110 x 3

with slingshot: 125 x 5, 135 x 3, 135 x 2

The first rep of that final set was good. The second rep wasn’t so great, and I lost one of my shoulders in the process which threw off my attempt for the third rep. Michael asked if I would like to try another set, and I did. I knew that I was capable of better than the result of that set; however, Michael did tell me to do a 3 second eccentric for the final set, so that I could really nail the position.

135 x 3 with 3 second eccentric…better! The slower eccentric helped, kind of like the way that I can nail my technique during a pause squat, because I am slower and more controlled.

1c. band pull-aparts, orange band

x 15, x 15, x 15

x 8 with a 5 second hold

2. one arm kettle bell rows

16kg x 12 each, 24kg x 12 each, 24kg x 12 each

3a. rope face pulls

20 lbs x 15 x 2 sets

3b. triceps pulldowns

30 lbs x 10 x 2 sets

3c. dumbbell curls

20 lbs x 10 x 2 sets

I just have to say that curls are always tough. Prior to the final rep on the final set, I sort of paused momentarily to psych myself up for the gruelling task of curling those dumbbells, because my biceps were ready to die after 4 or 5 reps. Michael spurred me on by joking that it’s just a curl, not a squat! Ha! Guilty.

3d. renegade rows

25 lbs x 8, 25 lbs x 10

I haven’t done these for a long time, and that first set was tough. Michael asked if I wanted to stick with the 25 pound dumbbells or drop to 20 pounds for the final set, but I chose to stay with the 25s. I figured the second set would be slightly easier now that I had acclimatized myself to the exercise again. Funny though that he never offered to drop the weight for the curls! But yes, the second set was easier, better and faster than the first, and I managed to get a couple of extra reps! That would never happen with curls! Just saying.

 

Leave a Reply

