Feed the Bear, Don’t Poke Her

I had a decent day. I had a good training session. Yet, I came home from the gym and immediately fell face first into a cesspool of grumpiness for the simple reason that I had to make dinner. There had been no one home to prepare dinner, and I hadn’t been organized enough to take advantage of my crockpot. Well, I could be that organized, but the picky eaters I must feed make it difficult to find a recipe that is agreeable to everyone…and I am super fussy about what I am eating these days, too. So no food prepared for my arrival home. This is me at my weakest: tired because I’ve been up since 4:00, hungry because I’m restricting my calories and just put in a solid training session, and then I am stressed, watching the clock, knowing that I need to be in bed no later than 8:00, preferably earlier, as I have another early morning/long day tomorrow. The last thing I want to do when I walk into the house after a Friday (or Monday) training session is make dinner. The family’s response to my grumpiness only makes me grumpier. Just let me be grumpy and I will eventually get over it, but poke me and you will just get the bear.

1a. deadlifts, deficit

without belt: 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 185 x 3

with belt: 205 x 2, 225 x 2, 245 x 1, 260 x 1

235 x 3, 240 x 3

Deadlifts weren’t bad today. I think I did a better job of getting the bar in the right position at the start and keeping it close to my legs as I pulled. I still need to check my starting hip height a bit and make sure that my upper back is tight and flat before I pull.

1b. floor presses, competition grip

43 x 10, 63 x 6, 83 x 5, 93 x 4, 105 x 4, 110 x 4, 110 x 4

These were generally solid and good.

2a. front squats

without belt: 45 x 5, 95 x 5

with belt: 125 x 5, 140 x 6

We remembered to use the belt today! I think they felt pretty good. Chokey but good.

2b. reverse crunches x 8

I might feel this tomorrow; I definitely felt the abs working during the last few reps! It probably didn’t help that my abs were only starting to feel recovered from Monday’s ab wheel.

Competition is four weeks from tomorrow, which means that by this time four weeks from now I should be finished weighing in and in the process of eating as much as I possibly can. I am looking forward to that day! I dreamed of cookies last night. The smell of freshly baked and glazed birthday cake timbits at work this morning almost did me in. Obviously I get cranky when I get hungry, too. But, aside from being a couple of pounds lighter, everything is going as planned.

2 thoughts on “Feed the Bear, Don’t Poke Her”

Leave a Reply

