Settle Down

Today’s motivational song comes from No Doubt. There are days, like this past Sunday, when this song will come up on my playlist and I, irritated by the stock pop feel of the music, will skip ahead to the next song. Other times, like today, I let the song play, and I am reminded again why it is in my motivational playlist in the first place.

I am a ‘play it close to the chest’ kind of girl. I would rather shrug off a problem or simply deny it completely than admit that I am struggling. It is easier to be honest in my blog than it is in a face-to-face conversation, although I am getting better at being honest…when I most need to be, like with my coach or my chiropractor. Most of the time.

I think I am in a good place today, but I know that my mood can change quickly and often. This song is a reminder that being knocked down doesn’t mean I have to stay down. It is a reminder that I am okay and I can handle this…whatever this might be. I have focus and determination; you can see it in my eyes!

These aren’t the complete lyrics, but I think I’ve shown the most important parts.

I’m Fine (and nothings gonna knock this girl down)
I’m hella positive for real
I’m all good, no
I’m Fine (and nothings gonna knock this girl down)
Its kind of complicated that’s for sure.

But you can see it in my eyes
You can read it on my lips
I’m trying to get a hold on this.
And I really mean it this time
And you know its such a trip
Don’t get me started
I’m trying to get a hold on this.

Get-get-get in line and settle down
Get-g-Geeeet, in line and settle down.

No big deal (I can handle it)
It’ll bounce off me (I can handle it)
Been around the block before
Doesn’t matter anymore
Here we go again (Are you kidding me?)
Are you insane? (Are you kidding me?)
Underneath the avalanche
So heavy again

I’m Fine (and nothings gonna knock this girl down)
I’m hella positive for real
I’m all good, no
I’m Fine (and nothings gonna knock this girl down)
Its kind of complicated that’s for sure.

 

Leave a Reply

