The Blame Game

Today has been a day, not a bad one necessarily but I couldn’t call it a great one. Can I blame it on a not so great sleep last night? On a series of events at work? The boredom of my diet? The fatigue of training? I’m not sure that I can pinpoint one specific cause, although I suspect that the actual reason is a tangled web of threads that, unraveled, would lead to a wide array of stressors. My mood was melancholic this morning, and now it is slipping into grumpiness.

1a. squats, low bar

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 125 x 5, 145 x 3

with belt: 175 x 2, 195 x 1, 215 x 1

185 x 5

Midway through this set, Michael moved my elbows in a bit which made the last rep a bit tough. I might have snarled a bit as he touched the bar on that last rep. He didn’t want me to have a grindy rep. Okay.

I know that my elbow position is less than ideal, and I have been trying to bring them down; it’s just not that easy to do! Michael thought that my depth was not as deep as last week. My hips were shooting up faster than my upper body.

185 x 5

For this set I tried to keep my upper back super tight, my elbows down and pulled together as much as I could. I think it helped during the first few reps, but keeping all that tightness was definitely a challenge for the full five reps. The last rep was tough. I don’t think my upper back has ever worked so hard during squats before.

1b. bench press, competition grip

43 x 8, 63 x 6, 83 x 5, 100 x 5, 110 x 1, 115 x 1

100 x 5, 100 x 5

At least my bench press technique seems to be consistent more than it isn’t.

2a. ab wheel

x 10, x 10

2b. pause squats, no belt, 2 second pause

160 x 3 reps x 2 sets

Love the pause squat! No issues with technique with the pause!

Hopefully tomorrow will be a day with a brighter outlook and sunnier disposition.

Leave a Reply

