A Scale’s Tale

The scale surprised me this morning. I had been expecting a number close to yesterday morning’s weight, but I weighed in even less than I had expected. It’s good news. It is exciting, but I am keeping the excitement to a minimum until I see consistency over the next day or two. I know my weight fluctuates from day to day, and it seems that these days my weight will drop one day, hold for a day or two, jump a bit and then drop lower again. Since this morning I was a little more than a pound lighter than yesterday, I wouldn’t be surprised if the scale presents a slightly heavier weight in the morning. No worries! I am definitely heading in the proper direction, and I am doing all the correct things. I have been flour & sugar-free for three weeks,  it has been two weeks since I reduced my calories and began tracking my food again, and I’ve been dairy-free for a week. (And no wine for three weeks!) Along with the dietary changes, I have been incorporating walking into as many days as I possibly can. The fear of failing to make my weight class is fading away.

1a. chest-supported rows

90 lbs x 12, 95 x 10, 95 x 9, 95 x 9, 95 x 7, 95 x 8, 95 x 8

These felt tougher today, although I am fairly certain that I have never done so many reps at that weight. I think I did my first set at 95 pounds last week, and that was only one set!

1b. bench press, close grip

45 x 8, 65 x 6, 85 x 4, 95 x 4, 105 x 4, 105 x 4 the last rep was a grinder because I pushed up too straight, 105 x 4 better bar path

I think these were okay, for the most part. There is definitely benefit in having the proper bar path with the close grip, and yet I also found it more challenging to execute that good bar path with the close grip.

2a. flyes

flat: 15 lb dumbbells x 12

incline: 15 x 8…felt some strain in my right elbow due to poor positioning, changed elbow position & dropped to 10 lb dumbbells x 10

10 lb x 25 better positioning, no elbow strain

2b. one arm kettle bell rows

20kg x 10 each, 24kg x 10, 24kg x 10

3a. military press

45 x 5

65 x 1…Michael asked if my new PR was 65 pounds. I said that today it was! This wasn’t supposed to be a single, but the upper body was feeling pretty tired. My right upper pec has been bothering me since Monday night. It isn’t acute or painful, but it doesn’t feel right. I’m not really concerned about it, but, between that and the flyes I think overhead pressing wasn’t going to happen.

3b. some type of lat pulldown with a straight bar, neutral grip 😉

80 lbs x 12 x 2 sets

 

Leave a Reply

