Top & Bottom

With competition a little less than 9 weeks away, I knew that there was the possibility of my deadlifts being switched from Fridays to Wednesdays. I seem to do well with frequent squatting, so it looks like I will be squatting Mondays and Fridays. Still, even though I knew the likelihood of deadlifts changing was good, I didn’t know it would actually happen until I walked in the gym this morning. Sometimes I think it is good for me to be taken by surprise like that, as it doesn’t give me enough time to overthink, although I doubt that I would have given the deadlifts much thought. I am confident with my deadlift, even when a training session may not go the way I’d like it. What I would have stressed out over was the military press.

1a. deadlifts, only pulling to the top of my knees with a 2 second pause

without belt: 75 x 8, 115 x 6, 145 x 4

with belt, mixed grip: 185 x 4, 185 x 4

The big focus here was to keep everything tight and in the correct position. The first set with the belt was okay, although, to me, it felt like my lower back was rounding a bit. Michael said the second set was fine, but it still felt like it was rounding to me. It is good that we are working with the new belt though, because I am definitely finding it to be an adjustment from the old belt.

1b. military press

43 x 8, 53 x 6, 63 x 4…stalled on fifth rep, rested 20 seconds and got 2 more reps, 63 x 4,

63 x 4…the fourth rep was a push press, tried for another rep and bombed, lost the rack position and put the bar on the floor, rested 20 seconds, cleaned the bar and got 2 more reps with the push. The timing with the push was off on the failed rep.

Generally, I started off okay and then ran into elbow positioning problems. Too far back. Too far forward. Not under the bar. <sigh> One day!

2a. block pulls, with straps and a moderate sumo stance

185 x 6, 205 x 6

with belt: 225 x 5, 235 x 5

These felt pretty good.

2b. flat dumbbell presses

25 lbs x 10, 35 x 8, 35 x 8

And for some unexplainable reason, the right arm was a little shakier with these today.

2c. chest-supported rows

70 lbs x 12, x 12, x 10, x 11

The first two sets were with my feet higher on the platform, while the last two were with my feet lower on the platform. I’m not sure why I ever started having my feet higher…maybe it seemed to make it easier to breathe? I don’t know! I didn’t lose anything having my feet lower. If anything, I think the rows might have felt easier, although my upper back was feeling a little fatigued by then.

Even though the military press was on the agenda, today was a good training day. We worked the top and bottom of the deadlift. My quads are still sore from Monday’s squats, but I don’t think the intensity is quite as bad as last week. I am adapting to doing squats again. Slowly. I haven’t been dwelling on Monday’s squat frustration, but Michael reminded me again today that it will all come back quickly. It will!

Leave a Reply

