A Little Toes to the Bar

As this current training program winds down, I cannot help but feel the excitement of competition training begin to stir within me. I know the work is going to be heavy and hard, but I’m going to love every minute of it.

1a. deadlifts, conventional

95 x 8, 135 x 8, 165 x 4

with straps: 185 x 10, 185 x 10, 185 x 10, and with my new belt 185 x 10

I think these were decent today. Any day where the deadlifts don’t feel super heavy is a good day! Breathing is often an issue for me, especially with the high reps and the speed of touch and go, but I was actually thinking about breathing today! Sometimes I don’t think about it, so the fact that I was aware of it can only be a good thing. I did find that being mindful of my breathing messed with my rhythm a bit, but I guess it is better to finish the set without passing out! That in no way implies that I have ever been close to passing out! Michael had me use my new belt for the final set just because. I’ve barely used the new belt, since I haven’t squatted or done anything too heavy for at least 6 weeks. Honestly, I expected that final set to feel tough. I thought my breathing would be more of an issue with the belt. But you know what? I kind of want to say that the final set with the belt was the easiest of the four! The bar felt a bit lighter, and I don’t think I had any more trouble with the breathing than I did without the belt. Like I said…a good deadlift day!

1b. incline dumbbell presses, pronated

20 lbs x 12, 25 lbs x 10, 25 x 10, 25 x 12?

This was my first time doing these with my hands pronated, and I think they went rather well. I didn’t have too much trouble keeping things lined up properly. Apparently I only have trouble remembering how many reps when I don’t write it down immediately following the set! I think I did 12 reps that last set.

2. bench press using the slingshot

First 73 x 5 without the slingshot, because I haven’t really done normal bench presses for a while either, then 73 x 5 with the slingshot. It was quite difficult, almost impossible really, to get the bar all the way down to my chest, and then the bar literally shot up as if, well…fired from a slingshot!

93 x 5, 113 x 5, 130 x 3

3. toes to bar

Michael said he was going to kick my butt to end my session. Ha! So, the two of us would take turns doing sets of 5 toes to bar, and we would keep going until one of us missed a rep. Our only rest was pretty much just the time it took the other to do the 5 reps. Now I don’t have time right now to go back through my training logs to see what my maximum volume record was for this exercise, but I think it is safe to say that I had never done more than 30 reps total in one training session.

I started.

x 5, x 5, x 5, x 5, x 5, x 5 (pretty sure that right there was a PR for volume), x 5, x 5, x 5, x 3

Gosh darn it! I wanted to get that last set of 5 for a total of 50 reps, but one of my toes didn’t make it and my set came to an end at 48. I just realized that Michael didn’t do his last set to best me! Hmmm. That’s okay. We were just having fun, although I’m not sure that he thought I’d last as I long as I did. He should know that I thrive on challenges. 😉

So now my hands don’t want to uncurl from their talon-like pose. Holding onto the steering wheel for the drive home wasn’t exactly fun. And I shouldn’t be surprised if my abs feel a little sore over the next couple of days…

Leave a Reply

