Back At ‘Er

I slept last night! In fact, I slept very well, and what a difference that made to my outlook upon waking. What a difference it made to my training today! Today wouldn’t normally be a training day, but that’s how it worked out this week. There is no way that I could have made it through tonight’s training without having had a good night’s sleep, although I’m sure that Michael would have changed things up if I wasn’t up to the task.

I also had a chiropractic appointment today. The headaches areĀ improving, I think, and there doesn’t seem to be much point in getting too worked up about them. The potential variables are many, and those variables can change on any given day or time. Basically, my neck is feeling pretty good. The headaches are getting less frequent, less of a disturbance. My right hamstring got most of the attention today, and I’ve been given some homework to deal with that soreness. This is probably related to my disc issue. Does that make it good news? I don’t know. I don’t think it was presented as bad news.

1a. reverse hypers

50 lbs x ?, x 15, x 15

1b. incline dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 12, 25 lbs x 8, 29 lbs x 8, 29 x 8, 29 x 8, 29 x 9

These felt good today, easy enough…certainly easier than last week.

2a. deadlifts, squat stance, keep the tension each rep

without straps: 95 x 8, 135 x 7, 165 x 5

with straps: 185 x 5

175 x 10 x 4 sets, all touch and go

The third set of 10 was the best. Now that may have been because, prior to my starting that set, Michael said I would do one or two more sets depending on how that set went, and there is no better way to ensure that I have a really good set than to suggest dropping the workload. The second set was okay but weird, because I couldn’t seem to touch both sides to the floor. Since I was doing touch and go reps, I’d touch down quickly but only the left side actually touched for virtually the entire set, even as I realized the discrepancy and tried to correct in as I continued. Maybe that is why Michael said the third set might be my last…

But the deadlifts felt good today! These were certainly easier than the snatch grip ones I had been doing of late. It was certainly more volume than I’ve done lately. Today I pulled 10, 455 pounds! Last week’s deadlift total was only 4455 pounds.

2b. glute ham raises

x 14, x 14ish, x 12

3a. single leg hip thrusts with a 70 lb sandbag

x 10 each leg for 2 sets, the last rep of the second set with a 4-5 second hold at the top

3b. toes to bar

x 10, x 6

I worked hard today, and it felt good after two less than stellar training sessions earlier in the week. Isn’t it amazing what a good sleep can do?

 

Leave a Reply

