Guess What I Did?

The low mood that hit me on Wednesday began to lift as I typed yesterday’s blog post. I think that, for me, I really need to express myself in some way when I am battling negativity. It is far too easy for me to over-think, to stew in my thoughts, but the act of letting them out can often derail the runaway thought train and get me back on the proper track. So, I was in a much better frame of mind when I walked into the gym this afternoon, but that didn’t stop my coach from talking to me about it. My coach is pretty darn smart, although I might have questioned his sanity when he asked if I wanted to attempt some unassisted chin-ups before I began my program. I said I would try it, but I was really highly skeptical that I would be able to do one. I couldn’t help but feel that I would be completely crushed if I failed, but, short of jumping off of a bridge, I trust Michael enough to attempt just about anything he asks me to do.

<insert drumroll here>

From a dead hang, I pulled myself up for one chin-up, lowered myself and pulled myself back up for a second chin-up! 😀

Did you catch that? I did 2 completely unassisted chin-ups from a dead hang! You know, with those 2 chin-ups, I have technically crossed that goal off of the list. I sort of threw the number 5 into the goal just because it sounded like a nice number; however, I knew that getting more than one would be a challenge, so I allowed myself a conditional pass with less than 5 reps. Success, especially after you thought it was no longer possible, tends to encourage perseverance, which means that I’ll take my little success and keep plugging away for more!

1a. handstand push-up practice

x 4, x 4, x 4

1b. front squats

without shoes: 45 x 8, 95 x 6, 125 x 4

with shoes: 145 x 4, 165 x 4, 165 x 4, 165 x 4

1c. glute-ham raises

x 8, x 8, x 8

incline dumbbell presses

20 x 20, 25 x 15, 25 x 8 or 9…Michael was talking to me about Popchips, so I lost track.

2a. snatch grip deadlifts, keep the tension with a light touch at the bottom

95 x 6, 145 x 4

with straps: 185 x 6, 205 x 6 PR? I think so.

2b. hollow rock hold

x 30 seconds, x 30 seconds

knee raises on swiss ball x 5

My husband finished work early today, so he was home before I left for the gym. In chatting with him, I made mention of how I would often get frustrated with the chins in training but would usually still leave the gym feeling like I’d get there one day. Then I told him that, even though I was in a better frame of mind today, part of me still felt that I would never get there. I guess I just proved myself wrong and I’m okay with that!

Leave a Reply

