When You’re Hangry and You Know It

My good mood flew out the window just before 4:00 this afternoon. All I did was ask one of my children, the only one home at the time, to scrub some potatoes to be thrown in the oven to bake for dinner. I asked for 12 potatoes to be prepared. The child only did 9 and then proceeded to argue with me as to why it was ridiculous for me to ask for as many as I did. Unbeknownst to both of us, this was not a good time to argue with me over food, because I was on the verge of being ravenously hangry.

The child argued that there was no need to make 12 potatoes, because that was an excessive number and most of them would be thrown away and wasted. I vehemently disagreed. There are 5 people in our family. Three of those family members are men and one is a powerlifter, which means that there are 4 people with typically hearty appetites. Good carbs are my friend, so I almost always have 2 baked potatoes unless they are exceptionally large. Realistically, it is quite possible for 8 or 9 potatoes to be consumed for dinner, and if dinner was all that mattered then I’d only ask for 9 potatoes to be prepared. However, since carbs are my friend, I like to have prepared carbs on hand for easy consumption for breakfast or lunch. I often make myself a breakfast of fried potatoes scrambled with eggs, turkey bacon and spinach. When I have leftover baked potatoes in the fridge, I will take them to work for my lunch along with some sort of protein. Leftover baked potatoes do not go uneaten in my house, but this child of mine refused to believe it and could not be reasoned with.

I got a little snappy with this child, especially when he said that he shouldn’t have to prepare the extra potatoes since he wouldn’t be eating them. So not the right thing to say! For a young adult who frequently requests that I bring him snacks and food, you would think that he would be a little smarter in his dealings with the hand that feeds him. I made some sort of retort about the fact that he could make his own meals then and get his own snacks. Of course, being the obstinate child that he is, he then refused to actually eat dinner, because I told him that he couldn’t. Honestly, there are days when I am amazed that this child has managed to make it to his 20th birthday! He knows where every button is located and he knows how to push each one.

Of course, once the grumpy attitude arrived, it was in no hurry to leave. I finished preparing dinner, including the rest of the potatoes, and grumbled over the bowl of half-eaten cereal left on the counter, the empty cereal box left on the counter, the popcorn seasoning put away in the wrong cupboard, the cheese crumbs left on the cutting board, and…you get the idea, right?

I’m no longer really grumpy, but I am still moody. Yes, there is a difference. I have had a bath, soaked myself in hot water and rosemary oil. I shaved my legs and managed to avoid the deadlift scrape on my shin, although I almost forgot about the scrape when towelling off. I finished off the rest of my salted caramel gelato, but really there was only a small amount left in the container…not nearly as much as I would have liked. I am slowly, yes slowly, sipping a generous glass of pinot gris. I am trying to ignore the bag of my favourite potato chips that is sitting in my bedroom. (I don’t normally keep potato chips in my bedroom. These were part of a birthday gift to me, and the only way to ensure that I am the one to eat them is to keep the bag in my room!) I think my resistance is going to fail though. One thing I have to look forward to is a good night’s sleep. Tuesday nights tend to be one of my best and longest nights of sleep in the entire week. Without a doubt, I’ll feel better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

