Squat Sumo Sick

Today wasn’t quite the day that I thought it would be. I woke up feeling fine, had breakfast and went to work still feeling fine, but it wasn’t long before I began to feel less than fine. A headache formed and my gut was a swirling mess of nausea. I was hot, sweaty and my hands were shaky. I’d be relatively fine for a bit and then a wave would hit me with ferocity. I was able to leave work roughly midway through my shift, so I went home and went to bed. Sleep was elusive though, and I only managed about a half hour of a somewhat sleepy state before my brain was once again alert and awake. Still, I had a very low-key afternoon. The headache was still present, the waves of nausea less pronounced. By the time I had to leave for my training session, I felt quite a bit better than I did in the morning although still not perfect.

1a. front squats with sleeves and a 3 second eccentric

45 x 5, 75 x 5, 100 x 5, 125 x 4, 145 x 4, 155 x 4, 165 x 4

Michael was all about slowing down my eccentric movements today, which wasn’t so bad in the earlier sets but was a little more challenging for the last set. I get the feeling that Michael is trying to convince me that front squats are just as much fun as back squats, since he is removing the back squats from my programming for the next 6 weeks. I like front squats, really I do! The only thing I don’t enjoy is “front squat induced asthma!” My brain has been fuzzy today, but I think Michael said that Mondays will be higher volume and Fridays heavier weight for the front squats. Whatever he said, I get to front squat twice a week, and, as Michael pointed out, I still get to do a squat with a barbell.

1b. close grip bench press with a 3 second eccentric and 1 second pause

45 x 5, 65 x 6, 80 x 6 or 7 (we both lost count but I think it was 7), 95 x 6, 100 x 6, 100 x 6

My bench was good today. The slower eccentric really seemed to help me keep the bar well-positioned and level. There was one tougher rep somewhere in one of the sets, but it was only because I misgrooved the rep.

2a. sumo deadlifts

135 x 6 plus 2 more to nail down the form, 165 x 5

with straps: 195 x 5, 205 x 5

The first set wasn’t super great. Too much back, not enough legs. The next set was better but grip was definitely starting to go. I think the final two sets were the best. It’s been about a month since I last did sumo deadlifts, and I think that my technique improves with familiarity.

2b. single arm dumbbell presses

20 lb x 10 each, 25 lb x 6 each, 25 x 6 each

I tried to sneak the 20 pound dumbbell into the second set, but Michael shut that down pretty quick. The left arm was definitely the weaker of the two, so it was good that Michael said to start with that arm. I could have easily done 8 reps, possibly even 10, with the right arm. The left arm on the final set felt a bit stronger and the reps moved more smoothly. I thought I might be able to get one extra rep but no.

2c. TRX supine rows with a controlled eccentric

3 or 4 reps using a bar

on the TRX: 6 with legs straight out + 3 or 4 with legs bent, 4 + 5

Still not a fan of these.

3a. GHD sit-ups

3 with just bodyweight + 10 with 10kg kettle bell, 8 with 12 kg kettle bell

3b. Stir the Pot

3 circles each direction x 2 sets

And I am done! I might have been a bad girl and not mentioned to Michael how I had been feeling most of the day. That might have been intentional…maybe. However, in my defense, I would have mentioned it if I felt like it would have impacted my performance. Yes, I would have said something then! I was feeling quite a bit better by the time I got to the gym, and I think I was able to perform as if I was feeling perfectly fine. My food log for today will be on the sparse side though, because I haven’t eaten much today. I think I ate more for dinner, post-training session, than I ate all day, and I really didn’t eat all that much for dinner! I might be starving in the morning, but I think I should feel much better, too. I so seldom get sick…can this even be called being sick? I don’t think so. Tomorrow will be a better day. A good night’s sleep cures almost everything.

Leave a Reply

