Make the Time

During the course of a training session a variety of topics can come up in conversation. Today we talked a little bit about time, particularly about how we will make time for what is important to us. Some people might say that they don’t have time for this activity or that, yet they have plenty of time to watch all of their favourite television shows. With that having been said, I had to make a confession to Michael. Way back at the beginning, on that very first day that I stepped into the gym, Michael told me that he wanted to see me three times a week with two of those times being from 4-5 PM. I distinctly remember nodding my head and agreeing to his request, but inside my head I was thinking that I didn’t have time for that! That was right before dinner. Who would make dinner? I worked early, early those days. How could I possibly have enough energy to train at 4 PM after being awake for at least 12 hours already?

Those were my thoughts that very first day. I readily confess that I wasn’t sure how it would all work out, but I can tell you, unequivocally, that I have no regrets about making my training time a priority. My family, despite what my kids may think on occasion, has not perished for lack of food. It is good for my kids to help out in the kitchen, and I try not to get too hangry when I come home from training to discover that dinner has not been prepared. As for the energy, there really is no shortage! On Mondays I can wake up shortly after 3:00 AM, work eight hours, and go to the gym for 4:00 PM and knock out some pretty good squats. I could even do that before I started drinking coffee! We will always find time for what is important to us!

1a. squats-high bar, with sleeves

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 8, 135 x 8, 155 x 4

These were pretty good, I think.

with my new belt: 185 x 8, 195 x 5, 205 x 5 which I think is a PR…I’d have to check my other notes but they’re upstairs and I don’t want to wince my way up and down the stairs more than I need to right now

This was my first time squatting with my new belt, although I have used Michael’s belt a couple of times before and his belt is the same brand/model as mine. I think I was getting good support from the belt, but I did notice the change to my breathing and the increase in perceived difficulty because of the breathing. The earlier sets without a belt were faster, smoother and easier to breathe through. With the belt, breathing had to become more intentional and it became harder to come by. The second set with the belt was a bit easier, I think. Even the final set was better. The first couple of reps might have been slower, but they got easier as I went along, and I could likely have done 8 reps if pushed.

pause squats

175 x 6 reps with a 2 second pause, no belt

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve done pause squats, but I think these were good. They felt awfully slow, because my legs were feeling rather trashed.

1b. flat dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 8, 25 x 6 plus 4 without any legs

The rest of my sets were without legs.

34 x 8 reps x 4 sets

2a. seated cable rows

85 pounds (I think! I didn’t check to see where Michael put the pin, but I think he said 85.)x 12

85 x 14

2b. front foot elevated (4″) split squats with 55 lb weight vest

x 10 each leg, x 12 each leg

Honestly, this one really sucked. My balance was horrible, and my legs burned. The second set was marginally better, because we shortened up my stance a little bit, but the legs still burned. Is it any wonder that I want to limit my stair-climbing activity tonight?

And, I have homework! Yeehaw! I get to begin working towards a back bridge, although right now I’m just taking it one step at a time, and I am supposed to try and do some L-sits. Something tells me that the L-sit thing will be the harder of the two, but I’m nothing if not determined.

Leave a Reply

