The Workshop

I went to a workshop this morning put on by my chiropractor which was about injury prevention and health strategies for long-term success. It was a good workshop, informative and entertaining. While I wasn’t quite sure what sort of information would be imparted, I was pleasantly surprised to discover that I already implement most of the things that were mentioned. The information was really quite simple, but then again simple is often the best solution to a problem, even if we think the solution should be complicated.

I had the thought to bring a notebook with me to take notes, but I completely forgot until I had already arrived. I know that I will forget points or totally butcher the original intent of others, but I want to share a bit about the workshop.

In simplest terms, these are important:

  • foam roll (upper back, hips, thighs and calves) frequently, even 30 seconds per area
  • eat breakfast. Eat protein with breakfast.
  • plan meals and snacks. Be prepared. Eat well.
  • omega-3 and vitamin D
  • get enough sleep
  • ZMA (zinc, magnesium and B6) can help with sleep, so can melatonin; keep your bedroom dark and cool
  • don’t sit more than you need to; move often
  • deloads and rest are important
  • meditate; control what goes into your mind
  • have a good support system (coach, chiropractor, massage therapist, physiotherapist, medical doctor, etc.)

Quite honestly, I am not always perfect at doing the things on this list, but I definitely do some of these almost all of the time and others frequently. I know that I can only say that because of the good support system that I have! My chiropractor said that your coach is the most important part of that support system, and I couldn’t agree more. While I did own a foam roller before I ever had a coach, I seldom used it before I began training. My eating habits were not horrible before I began training but also not as good as they are now. Michael encouraged me to start taking omega-3 and ZMA. I am probably biased, but I think Michael is an amazing coach. He has my best interests at heart and is smart with my training, including deloads. In big ways and small, Michael is always sharing his knowledge and experience with me which only makes me better, too!

I did get an internal thrill over one thing that was said at the workshop, and I couldn’t wait to get home to tell my daughter all about it. Routine was being mentioned, including listening to the same music on the way to the gym, approaching the bar the same way every time, and so on. The part about listening to the same music almost made me laugh out loud, because I do exactly that on my way to the gym. Every. Single. Time. In fact, I can and often do listen to the same song over and over in my car. (My current song on repeat is The Impossible Dream by The Temptations.) My daughter, on occasions when she is driving somewhere with me, gets a little exasperated by my repetitious music. That and the fact that I won’t let her play her music!

It was a good workshop, but really I wouldn’t expect anything less from my chiropractor.

Leave a Reply

