Reoccurring Adjustments

I love words. I love quotes and, in fact, I have a small notebook in which I write down quotes that I find especially meaningful. A few days ago while out driving with my husband, listening to talk radio, I heard someone make a statement that I had to immediately write down, because it was both simple and profound.

“Life is a series of reoccurring adjustments.”

Life is all about change, and isn’t adjustment just another way of saying the same thing?

In our day-to-day living, we face countless opportunities to make a change, or an adjustment, to our diet, our health, our fitness, our attitude, our position, our understanding, our happiness/gratitude/peace/joy, our relationships, and the list goes on. We may not always notice these opportunities. Some are quite blatant about getting in our faces, while other opportunities can be missed as easily as a whisper in the midst of a raucous party. At times we embrace the adjustment willingly, yet resent the intrusion when life wants to topple over our preconceived ideas of how our lives should flow.

One thing I have learned over the past couple of years is that small, reoccurring adjustments, like small steps strung together, can produce the most amazing results. You don’t lose 30 pounds overnight; it takes time, discipline and effort. A beaten down self-esteem doesn’t wake up one morning ready to soar and conquer the world. It takes time, lots of time, and being open to change, taking small steps each day until you feel strong enough to take bigger steps. Athletic records aren’t broken, at least not that I am aware of, by someone who has never spent even a single hour training with purpose. Many years ago, I wandered into a gym and floundered my way through a circuit of machines and exercises. I doubt that I could have squatted the bar that day. That experience could never compare to the past 2 years of working with a personal trainer and the series of adjustments that have shaped me into someone who currently owns a couple of squat records.

I am a thinker. I like to reflect, dwell on, mull things over and twist them around in my head. This is not always a good trait, like when I am struggling with the military press, but sometimes looking back can encourage us to go even further forward. Here are some of my own adjustments from the past few years:

  • breaking my addictions to Diet Coke and Iced Capps
  • losing 30 pounds
  • falling in love with powerlifting
  • giving up on my goal to run a marathon in 2014
  • a stressful kitchen renovation
  • shoulder issues
  • hip issues
  • a disc issue resulting in hip & toe issues
  • a few failed lifts in competitions
  • being asked to do an interview for TV
  • being asked to share a bit of my journey with my church
  • getting contact lenses after wearing glasses for 30 years
  • making a daily list of things that make me happy and/or I am thankful for
  • going without sugars or flours for 30 days
  • making the decision to step down from a leadership position I enjoyed
  • making the decision to even begin working with a personal trainer
  • having a hysterectomy
  • being diagnosed as mildly depressed and coming to accept it and deal with it
  • learning to love drinking water when I used to hate it
  • eliminating (mostly) wheat flour and white sugar from my kitchen
  • listening to my trainer’s recommendation to see a chiropractor, even though I had a strong aversion to the profession from previous experiences
  • opening the door to my heart to be exposed and vulnerable once more, allowing myself to be known and being blessed by the opportunities to know others because of it
  • my baby is graduating this spring
  • running, something I have enjoyed for several years, has been pushed into the back seat and is slowly being pushed right out of the vehicle

Life’s adjustments may not always seem to be good in the moment. There are certainly things on my list that were not comfortable or desirable; however, I know that even the painful, uncomfortable adjustments have purpose, even if we cannot see or feel the benefit for a long time. Whether we like it or not, life is a series of reoccurring adjustments. What makes all the difference is how we respond to them!

 

Leave a Reply

