A Matter of Time

I think some people would be surprised by just how little time I actually spend at the gym. I had a very brief conversation at church this morning with a gentleman who inquired as to how I did at my last competition. After congratulating me, he made a comment about how hard the work must be to be able to perform as I did and asked how often I train. I train for an hour three times a week. That’s it, that’s all! Yes, it is hard work, but it is also incredibly fun!

Once upon a time, I used to run anywhere from 1-3 times a week, but my running days seem to have come to an end, at least for who knows how long. Maybe I can resume running again some day. I’d like to run again, however, I am also quite happy to just be a powerlifter.

I am a powerlifter!

It doesn’t matter that I have a combination of 7 National and Provincial powerlifting records to my name; I still feel hesitant to call myself a powerlifter. Every time I make such a statement, I half expect someone to call me a liar or an imposter. But I digress!

One thing to take away from this blog post is that you do not need to spend an obscene amount of time in the gym in order to get results. Consistency, discipline, and smart training are so much more important to your overall results than spending X number of hours killing yourself in the gym or doing any other physical activity.

Leave a Reply

