Mondays, PRs and Deficits

For half of my Monday work days, I bake. When I bake, I can listen to my music and sing along if I so choose. Normally I like my Mondays. How can I not? I get to listen to my music. I get to sing. I get to bake. I get to squat. But today was not the typical good Monday. Ironically, or maybe not, the song Monday, Monday came up on my playlist three times in the four hours that I was baking! I am pretty sure that there is a line in that song that goes, “Monday, Monday…can’t trust that day.” I concur, but I guess I can’t really complain too much. The day may not have been typical, but it still wasn’t a horrible day. Besides, isn’t any day that you get to squat a good day?

1a. squats-high bar, with sleeves and NO belt (just pointing that out because it will mean something later)

45 x 8, 95 x 8, 135 x 5 with pause on last rep, 155 x 3, 175 x 2, 195 x 1, and here is where the “no belt” comes into play…205 x 1 for a beltless PR

185 x 10 PR, 165 x 10

1b. incline bench press

45 x 8, 55 x 8, 65 x 8, 70 x 8 with pause on last rep, 70 x 7…just couldn’t finish that last rep after misgrooving the bar path

2a. rack pulls

without straps: 135 x 8

with straps: 185 x 8, 215 x 8

3a. deadlifts with 4″ deficit

135 x 8, 165 x 8, straps for the last set 165 x 8

I have never done deadlifts with such a big deficit before, and I have to say that a 4″ deficit really sucks. Michael said that we were having fun with my deadlifts today. I’m not sure that we have the same definition of fun! My quads might be sore tomorrow.

3b. GHD sit-ups x 12, x 12

It’s Manic Monday, which means that I am inhaling my dinner as I type because I need to rush back out the door in just a few minutes. While my Mondays will continue to be long days (hard not to be when you are up at 3AM), this is the last Monday where I will be out until after 9:00 PM. Actually, I’ve skipped out on the last few weeks of my Monday night study. I have struggled quite a bit with that, but the need to try and get at least a semblance of adequate sleep on a Monday night won out over my desire to take part in the study. As such, I am stepping down from my role in the leadership group after tonight. If tonight was not our wrap up for the rest of 2015, then I would most likely skip out once again. Tomorrow is another long day. I am going to miss being a part of the study and fellowshipping with a great group of women, but something had to give and I’d rather it not be my health and sanity for lack of sleep. So I am going out tonight when I really just want to put my pyjamas on and crawl into bed for a good night’s sleep.

Leave a Reply

