Fiendish Friday

Oh Friday, why are you so cruel to me? I prepare for you with a good night’s sleep. I consumed a small cup of mediocre dark roast to kick-start my early morning, and yet you refused to play nicely with me. I don’t mind a busy day. I don’t mind being short-staffed. I don’t even mind a wee bit of chaos, but you insist on sucking the last drops of my life blood until I am as wrung out as my dish cloth. After work, when I thought that I could recuperate with a delicious cup of Christmas blend, you punched me in the gut. Okay, so what really happened was that I knocked over the cup of coffee so that it fell onto a chair in my dining room. In my panic to right it, the lid popped off and coffee shot out all over the chair, the floor, and the cat’s water bowl. If my floors had been clean I might have lapped that coffee up, but instead I grabbed a towel to wipe up the mess and my tears. While some days are only a ‘one cup’ kind of day, today was most definitely at least a 2 cupper. Hmmm…maybe the lack of pre-workout caffeine was the reason why my deadlifts felt so tough today!

1a. sumo deadlifts

without straps: 95 x 8 with a pause right below the knees each rep to make sure that I’m pulling my hips through, 135 x 10 with pause except for last 2 reps

with straps: 185 x 10, 205 x 10, 205 x 6, 205 x 6, 205 x 6

For that final set, Michael said that I could stop at 5 reps if they slowed or if I felt like I was losing my form. Honestly, I think that last set felt the best, so I finished off with the full 6 reps. Of course, Michael knows that I’m not about to leave a rep behind just because he gives me the okay to do so!

1b. close grip bench

45 x 10, 75 x 8, 95 x 8, 95 x 8

I think a glance at my training notes today would show just how brain dead I was. Michael wanted sets of 8 for the bench, but I kept writing down 10 reps. I did the same thing with a few other sets of exercises, too, so there is some scribbled out or scribbled over markings.

Then Michael wanted a high rep set, like between 15-25 reps.

75 x 19

He called it at 19, but I told him that I could have done some more…at least one for sure, maybe more with a little breather between reps. I’m not sure that he believed me, but I am positive I could have ground out that twentieth rep! But really, I wanted all 25.

2a. front squats with knee sleeves

45 x 6, 95 x 8, 125 x 8, 135 x 8

Considering how trashed my legs felt from the deadlifts, these were surprisingly okay. I mean, they weren’t a walk in the park and doing front squats and deadlifts on the same day truly sucks, but the legs held up better than I anticipated.

2b. single arm dumbbell push presses

Michael wasn’t sure about giving me an upper body exercise, but my upper body felt quite good. Still, I may have cringed just a little bit when he handed me the 25 pound dumbbell.

25 x 10 each, 25 x 10 each, 29 x 5 each

After the first set, I noticed Michael assembling a heavier dumbbell and knew that it was for me. He didn’t say anything though, so I conveniently ignored the heavier dumbbell for the second set, but I couldn’t escape it entirely. That dumbbell was a little awkward to hold where I wanted to position it, but I lived. I might have been able to do a few more reps with the right arm, but the left arm failed on the sixth rep.

3a. pause squats, high bar

These weren’t your every day, garden variety pause squats. Oh no! These were super special, leg killers. No valsalva maneuver. Instead, as I hang out at the bottom of the squat, I had to breathe deeply 10 times.

75 pounds x 10 breaths…the most difficult part was the initial motion to get myself out of the hole

95 pounds x 10 breaths…this set was easier to get out of the hole

115 pounds x 10 breaths…my legs and breathing began to quiver a bit during the last few breaths, but it was still all good.

I expected these to be super tough at the end of my session, but they were the easiest thing I did all day!

3b. toes to bar for 7 reps

How glad will I be to see my bed tonight?

Leave a Reply

