Squats & Sumo

I made it! Here we are at the end of November, the last day of NaBloPoMo, and I am relieved. I was successful in the challenge, despite a laptop on the fritz, a stressful kitchen renovation, and the regular craziness of life. No more do I need to feel as if I have to blog every single day. I don’t mind blogging as often as I can, but there is something to be said for being able to do so freely and without a sense of obligation. Or possibly my attitude about the pressure depends upon the day of the week. There are days, like Mondays-aka today, where I essentially have tunnel-vision. I look ahead to the end of my work day, then I cram as much as I can into the next two hours before going to the gym. I look forward to my training session, but I no sooner finish training than my attention is focused on eating dinner and going to bed. It doesn’t matter if sleep is still a few hours away or not, my head is already there.

1a. squats, high bar, with sleeves

45 x 8 with a pause just for fun, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3, 175 x 2, 195 x 1, 180 x 10, 165 x 10

Less volume today but we increased the weight for the heavy set of 10 reps. We were about to do a second set of 10 @ 180, but Michael decided to drop the weight for the final set. I know I could have done a second set, but I’m okay with the dropped set, too. Those sets of 10 aren’t exactly fun. I am also fairly certain that this is the most weight/reps I have ever done without a belt!

1b. floor presses

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 85 x 8, 95 x 8, 100 x 8 PR, 90 x 8

2a. rack pulls, 2 inches below my knees

135 x 8 no straps

with straps: 175 x 8, 205 x 8, 205 x 8

2b. incline dumbbell presses

20 lbs x 13, 25 x 10, 25 x 10

Michael said I could start with the 20 pound dumbbells. That first set was easy, and I had already done 13 reps before I asked how many he wanted and was told 10. I really didn’t need to be told to use the 25 pound dumbbells for the next set, although Michael did make a point of reminding me how much I used to dread the 25 pounders!

3. sumo deadlifts

without straps: 135 x 8 plus 1 more with a pause just below my knees

I seem to have a heck of a time grasping the concept of pulling my hips through rather than simply pulling with my back. The head gets it, but I can’t always transfer that head knowledge to body action. With that last rep paused, I did a better job of pulling my hips through.

with straps: 155 x 8 with a pause below the knees for every rep except the last

Since I struggle to pull the hips through, Michael had me pause almost every rep this set. It helped, and I think I kept good form for the final unpaused rep.

175 x 8 without a pause

This set was better, although Michael did have to remind me to push with my legs about midway through. It certainly helped to push with my legs, but I have to say that pushing with my legs also made me realize just how beat up my legs were from the squats.

I felt like a zombie all the way home.

Not gonna lie…I had three or four episodes of feeling light-headed within the first 15 minutes or so of being home. When you’ve been laying down for a while and get up too quickly…you know that sensation of light-headedness? That’s what it was like, and I actually had to sink down to the floor, my knees, or leaning against the counter. I’m not sure what was going on there. I was hungry but not starving. I had plenty of fluids in me…and no, not a lot of coffee! My daughter has been feeling sick for a few days now, but I don’t believe I am getting sick. Or at least I don’t want to believe it. I seldom get sick, so I really don’t think that I am. Maybe, as strange as it may seem to me, this was just a by-product of a lot of hard work in the gym. That would seem strange to me, because I work hard at the gym quite frequently and normally without such a response. I’m sure it was nothing. I think I feel better now albeit tired with a full belly.

 

Leave a Reply

