Functionality

It has been a very long day, but I think it has been a good one. I allowed myself an extra 10 minutes of sleep last night, which really doesn’t seem like a lot, but when you are waking up at 4:15 every extra minute helps. Actually, Saturday mornings are my latest start of my work week. I guess I can’t complain too much, because I wake up a little later as my week progresses. Unfortunately, there isn’t a whole lot of difference between my wake up from my Monday to my Friday! I wake up at 3:15 on Mondays, 3:45 on Tuesdays and Fridays, and 4:15 on Saturdays. No matter how you look at it, I get up far too early for someone who is not a morning person!

Last night I had dreams of a sink full of hot, soapy water and of filling empty cupboards. Can you tell where my head has been at lately? Kane finally got the sink installed in our kitchen shortly before I went to bed last night, and the stove was put back into place this afternoon. Even though there is still a fair bit of stuff to be done with the renovation, the kitchen is finally functional once again. I even managed to make dinner <gasp> while I was busy loading up all those new cupboards! After dinner, I even washed the dirty dishes in my brand new sink. No more washing dishes in the bathtub!

But now I am feeling rather tired. I have been going almost non-stop since I woke up this morning. I woke up. I worked. I came home and began work in the kitchen. I ate dinner. I washed dishes. Only now, after all that and watching Doctor Who, am I enjoying a glass of pinot gris (I think that is my favourite!) and some popcorn. Fatigue is beginning to flood my body. I think I could close my eyes and fall asleep where I sit, but my contacts are also dry and ready to pop off of my eyeballs, so I am feeling the need to blink often. I might be in bed before too long.

Tomorrow is Grey Cup Sunday…but first church! Kane and I are greeting tomorrow morning. I’m still not sure why this introvert ever agreed to be a greeter, but I kind of enjoy it. Between church and the Grey Cup party at my friend’s house, I will need to cram an afternoon’s worth of preparation into a few hours. I’m heading into my crazy, busy days, and Sundays are when I usually get myself ready. But you know what I am most looking forward to tomorrow? Making my first cup of coffee in my brand new kitchen!

Leave a Reply

