Training on Thursday

Sometimes I train on days that are typically a rest day. That doesn’t happen very often and not without good reason. Today just so happened to be one of those days. I don’t mind so long as I get to go train. The change does mess with my routine a bit though, so it is now past my bedtime and I am still slightly damp with sweat. The first order of business when I got home was to chow down on some food, whatever I could scrounge up and heat up as quickly as possible. Although the kitchen reno is finally experiencing actual progress, I still am lacking the basic requirements for preparing proper meals. I had a frozen turkey dinner before going to the gym and a couple of frozen burritos when I got home. Yum. Maybe tomorrow the stove will be put back in place and the new sink installed!

1a. box squats

45 x 5, 95 x 7, 135 x 5, 155 x 5, 175 x 5, 155 x 8, 135 x 10

These were done with a slightly different form than I usually use for squats. My quads are the predominant muscles when I squat, but I had to do these box squats while keeping my shins vertical, requiring me to sit back quite a bit, lean my torso forward more, and use my hamstrings and glutes. This is definitely not a natural feeling movement pattern for me, but I did get better as the sets progressed.

1b. chest-supported rows

45 x 15, 70 x 15, 70 x 15, 70 x 13, 70 x 12

2a. deficit deadlifts

115 x 10, 145 x 10

with straps: 145 x 10, 145 x 10, 145 x 10 The last set was touch & go.

The first set at 145 pounds felt harder than it should have because of my grip. Using straps made the following sets feel a bit easier. For the most part, I think I did well at keeping the bar close to my legs. I have the sensation of a scrape on at least one spot on my right leg, so the bar was definitely close enough for some reps. I think I also felt some bruised areas on my shins as I pulled the bar up them. That’s a good sign, right?

3a. TRX suspended lunges

x 8 each leg for 2 sets

Exercises like this reveal just how unbalanced I am, although I do tend to get better the more frequently I practice them.

3b. GHD sit-ups with arms above my head going down

x 10, x 12

I did 12 the last set, because Michael said that he wanted at least 10.

And now I can sleep. Sort of. There won’t be enough of it, but it will still be lovely to lie down, to curl up beneath the layers of quilts and slip into darkness. Tomorrow is my Monday, my least favourite work day, but I get to have coffee with my lovely friend after work!

Leave a Reply

