About Those Goals…

I got excited when Michael said that we’d be doing high bar squats today and for the next few weeks, and then that excitement was subdued slightly when he said we’d be doing sets of 10. As I told Michael at one point between sets, I am at the point where sets of 10 scare me just a little. It isn’t that I don’t think I can do ten reps, because I know I can, rather it is the knowledge of just how hard the effort will be to complete all the reps…for multiple sets! It isn’t easy. I love squats, but, in the midst of a 10 rep set, I kind of question my sanity. Actually, I think I questioned my sanity a lot today.

1a. high bar squats with knee sleeves but no belt!

warm-up: 45 x 10, 95 x 6, 135 x 5, 160 x 5

main event: 175 x 10, 175 x 10, 145 x 10, 145 x 10, 145 x 10

Holy squat! 76 squats for a total of 10, 345 pounds! I have a feeling that my legs are going to be sore for the next few days. Not sure why I feel that way though…

1b. floor press

45 x 8, 65 x 10, 85 x 10, 95 x 10, 95 x 10, 75 x 10

These were pretty good today, I think. I definitely improved on the number of reps for the two sets @ 95 pounds compared to last week. Progress is progress no matter how small!

1c. Pallof presses

x 10 each side, x 10 each side, x 10 each side with 5 done on one foot and switching to the other for the last five …easier said than done

2a. parallette push-ups

x 9, x 8, x 8, x 8 with a pause on the last rep

And this would be where I really began to question my sanity. Why the heck did I put push-ups on that list of new goals? What was I thinking! I must have been drunk, except that I haven’t been drunk in more than twenty years. I don’t do drugs, so that isn’t it either. No one twisted my arm and made me put those nasty things as goals. Why? Why would I do this to myself? I don’t like push-ups. Is it that I enjoy torturing myself? Possibly. What are the chances that Michael will lose my list or forget about my new goals? Yeah, that’s about what I thought, since he already denied my request to change my goals. I really should have been smarter with my goal-making. Why not be able to eat an entire pizza by myself? How about laying down beside a bar of chocolate without eating it? Oh wait! I can already do that quite easily! <sigh> I guess I am just the sort of person who enjoys a challenge, even if it feels like I might die in the process, but I will still be kicking myself for quite some time.

3a. walking lunges with 55 lb vest

I thought Michael was being kind, when he said that he would just time me for 90 seconds rather than have me do a specific number of steps. Ha! I think counting steps might have been easier, because those 90 seconds felt like an eternity. My poor legs.

3b. ab wheel

x 10, x 10 with a pause on the last two reps

And yes, I crawled from the spot where I did my ab wheel to my gym bag by the door. I crawled! If I was a snake, I would have slithered, but I guess squatting would have been all the more difficult if I had no legs to begin with! I should sleep well tonight, because I will certainly be walking stiffly tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

