Left-Handed Dreams

I gave my little list of potential goals to Michael today. He didn’t tell me that I was out to lunch,  but he did say that he would work them into my training program. I think I’m looking forward to that, but I am beginning to question my sanity just a little bit. Why? Because some of my new goals involve things that I am not overly fond of! Here is my list:

  • to do a handstand push-up
  • to be able to do 25 consecutive push-ups
  • to do multiple, unassisted chin-ups (possibly 5)
  • to do multiple, unassisted dips (possibly 5)
  • to deadlift 3 plates (315 pounds)
  • to break all of my current records and those records that I have not yet broken
  • to compete 2-4 times next year
  • to achieve a RAW class 1 total
  • to eat cleaner, once this kitchen reno is finished, although not with the purpose of losing weight

Chin-ups? Push-ups? Unassisted? Am I completely insane? Quite possibly! But a little challenge, or a lot, never hurt anyone, right? I have the determination, the mindset, the drive, and the coach to get me from here to there.

Today’s training session seemed to be all about options, sort of. Deadlifts were up first, and Michael said that I could do whatever type I wanted. After rattling off a bunch of options, I said yes to some snatch deadlifts; it has been a while since I’ve done those.

1a. snatch deadlifts

without straps: 75 x 8, 115 x 8, 145 x 8

with straps: 165 x 8, 195 x 8, 155 x 10

Although I hadn’t done snatch deadlifts for a while, I rather enjoyed these today. I especially enjoyed hearing the soft whisper of bar against socks. Michael warned me prior to the drop-down set that it might feel tough, and I honestly expected that it would feel difficult. Maybe the expectation of difficulty can make reality a little easier? That set of 10 felt rather easy.

I also was given a bunch of options for pressing, and we settled on pin presses which I have never done before.

1b. pin presses

45 x 8, 65 x 6, 80 x 5, 95 x 5, 100 x 5, 105 x 3 out of 5 reps…I made the first 2 reps, got myself completely out of position for the third rep requiring Michael’s assistance, made the fourth rep and didn’t get the last one. Positioning really makes a difference with pin presses! Took a short breather and re-set myself for 2 more reps. This time Michael had me bring the bar down over 2.5 seconds, so that I would nail the position each time. Slowing down the descent seemed to help. All in all, these were kind of fun!

2a. front squats without sleeves

95 x 8, 115 x 8 x 3 sets

2b. farmers walk, using the trap bar and Michael let me use chalk this time!

155 x 4 lengths (80 feet), 155 x 6 lengths(120 feet) x 2 sets

Two weeks ago when I last did the farmers walk, I used the same weight (essentially my bodyweight) but no chalk was allowed that day! I did 5 lengths for 2 sets, but I set the bar down at the end of each length. Today I not only improved on the number of lengths/sets, but I also did not set the bar down between the start and finish of each set. The chalk certainly helped with grip. I love chalk…it makes me feel like I could hold onto a bar or a heavy weight for a long time! Michael timed my second set to see how much time I was under tension…52 seconds.

(Left-Handed Dreams by Francesca Duranti)

Leave a Reply

