Sense & Sensibility

I can roll out of bed at 3:15 most Monday mornings without ever wishing to hit the snooze button, but getting out of bed at 3:00 this morning was incredibly difficult. Even though I went to bed at a reasonable hour, I didn’t sleep overly well. But we got our daughter to the airport for her 4:00 check-in. Once she entered the departure area, we left and went for breakfast at Denny’s. It felt a little weird being the only people in the restaurant, but it was good to get some food and a cup of coffee inside me. We were back home by 5:30 and went back to bed for a couple of hours. That was not a good idea! That two hours of sleep hit me hard, like a ton of bricks. I had the most realistic dream, the kind that you swear is actually taking place as it happens, and when I woke up I was so groggy and lethargic. That pretty much described the rest of my day…at least until I went to the gym.

1a. Manta ray pause squats with a 2 second pause

45 x 7, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 5, 165 x 5, 175 x 5

I can’t say that I was sad to not be using the safety bar again, however, I soon discovered that the manta ray also resulted in a little bit of forward pitch. When I said that we could take a 10 pound jump for the final set, Michael agreed but threatened to cut the set short if my reps slowed down. I hate dropping reps, but I must have been fast enough! Actually, that last set felt a bit stronger than the previous one.

1b. parallette push-ups

x 6, x 8, x 12, x 10, x 10

The first set felt tough. The next couple of sets were much easier, and the last set or two was back to being a bit of a challenge. Push-ups aren’t a favourite, but I am getting better at them.

2a. barbell front rack split squats

75 lbs x 8 each leg, 95 x 8 each, 100 x 8 with left leg back but only 2 with the right leg back

The quad on my right leg, when that leg was back, felt some discomfort during the second set. It was a challenge but I finished that set. The final set wasn’t any easier, and I cut it short after the second rep. While I could have pushed through, it was uncomfortable enough to make me realize that the smarter decision would be to stop. The quad felt really tight and pulled, but we don’t believe that I actually have an injury…just some tight muscles. I stretched it out a bit and will do so some more here at home, but you know how I feel about missed reps. Ha!

2b. incline bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 4…I think I managed 4, but in all honesty it could have only been 3. My memory is hazy, and that was so not my best set. From the moment I unracked the bar, it felt heavy. I tried to keep the bad words from slipping from my mouth, but I think Michael saw my lips form the words inside my head. Then he dropped the weight to 55 for 2 sets of 10. Missed reps and a drop in weight! So not what I want to see, but I did do a lot of push-ups. Those final two sets were much better.

2c. glute-ham raises

x 10, x 10 (the last few reps were with hands behind head on descent), x 10 (the first 5 were with hands behind the head the entire time)

2d. inverted rows, overhand grip

x 10 for 3 sets

Normally I don’t like these all that much, but they were incredibly easy today! Michael jokingly mentioned doing 20 reps for the last set, and I almost thought that would be doable. But I wasn’t all that disappointed when he said he was just joking!

(Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen)

Leave a Reply

