Inside Out Girl

It isn’t a typical Friday night for me, but that isn’t necessarily a bad thing. After my training session, I hurried home so that I could then hurry to have dinner with some friends. While I can be fussy about getting enough sleep (because I need it), some things are worth losing a few hours and this was one of those times. The food was amazingly delicious, and the company was delightful. But now I need to blog (because NaBloPoMo, of course) and scurry off to bed. Or it might be more like drag myself to bed, because, although I am quite tired, I am at the stage where I want to stay up and have fun. Sleep does sound pretty good though.

1a. sumo deadlifts

without straps: 95 x 10, 135 x 10, 155 x 10

with straps: 175 x 10, 195 x 10, 155 x 10

I am fairly certain that I have never done so many reps of sumo before, but these felt rather good. Most of the sets were touch and go, while the set @ 195 was not touch and go. Michael noticed that I had a little more breakdown in that set than in the touch and go sets. It would seem that keeping the tension constant is easier for me than it is to reclaim that tension when I re-set each rep. Keeping the bar close to my legs is always an issue for me, but I did manage to scrape up a couple of spots on one leg so I must have been somewhat successful.

1b. walking bottoms up double kettle bell presses

6 kg x 12, 6 kg x 12, 8 kg x 11, 6 kg x 8

The first two sets were rather easy, so Michael asked if I wanted to increase the weight for the third set. I was willing, even though he cautioned me that it would be difficult. I thought he was teasing me when he said that he personally finds it challenging to use the 12 kg kettle bells. It turns out he wasn’t joking! I struggled to get the 11 reps with the 8 kg kettle bells and was more than willing to go back down to the 6s for the final set.

2a. seated dumbbell presses

25 lb x 5

Usually when Michael tells me to use the 25 pound dumbbells, I cringe and whimper and feel like there is no way that I can use that weight. This might have been the one and only time where I actually did not feel that way when he said to grab the 25 pounders! However, this is probably also one of a very few instances where Michael has realized that 25 pounds was maybe too much!

20 lbs x 10

Then Michael told me to do single alternating arms. Oh boy! That’s like asking me to think while I’m training and that seldom goes well.

20 x 16, 20 x 14

2b. front squats

45 x 6, 95 x 8, 115 x 8, 125 x 8

Speed was mostly decent with these. I’m not enjoying the choking sensation from the bar, but I do like my front squats.

3a. trap bar farmers carry

155 lbs x 5 lengths (about 100 feet total) x 2 sets

Michael started off saying that I’d do the first set without chalk and with chalk the next, but the chalk never made an appearance. Of course, that isn’t necessarily a bad thing either, although I am positive that my grip would have felt more secure during the latter half of the second set if I had chalk. However, I survived. My hands survived and I didn’t cut the distance at all. Michael had me set the bar down at the end of each length and re-set by deadlifting the bar. During the second set he said I could keep the bar up and turn rather than set it down, but there is no way that my grip would have held on had I taken that extra step. Still, I carried my body weight (at least today’s body weight) roughly 200 feet!

3b. hanging leg raises using straps

x 8

x 3, x 3 then Michael had me try some without the straps…bwahaha! I managed 3. Back to the straps for another 5. It’s not that I couldn’t do more than 3 without straps, but my grip was basically shot by this point in time and I didn’t fancy falling from the bar.

(Inside Out Girl by Tish Cohen)

Leave a Reply

