Fever Dream

Last night was the best sleep I have had in quite a while. Although I have been sleeping okay lately, my sleep app percentages have been in the 70-80% range. It was 95% last night and this despite a bad dream which woke me up around 4:00. I dream a lot. I have a lot of strange dreams. Part of last night’s dream had me in a very large and busy commercial gym with my trainer. Michael gave me a rather lengthy list of exercises to do that I had never done before, and then he was gone helping other people in the gym, leaving me wondering what the heck I was supposed to do and feeling stressed out. You know the dreams that are disturbing enough to wake you up, and then when you are awake you need a few minutes to realize it was just a dream…yeah, that was one of those dreams! For the record, the rest of my dream was creepy, like I was stuck in a house with creepy, evil people, and that part of my dream didn’t faze me at all. Like I said, I have a lot of strange dreams! However, I don’t recall having very many dreams about training.

Of course, I had to tell Michael about the dream that he was in and how disturbing it was to my sleep. He laughed, apologized and said that I was more than competent in the gym now. He’s probably right, and even if I wasn’t I could/would muddle my way through.

1a. dips using small green band

x 10, x 10, x 7, x 8, x 7 facing out and leaning forward more for this last set

1b. chin-ups using small green band, underhand grip

x 7, x 6

change to overhand grip

x 3, add a blue band to the green band for 6 more reps

switch to cable lat pull-downs

90 lbs x 7, 90 x 7, 70 x 12, 70 x 12

2a. close grip bench press, touch and go

45 x 10, 65 x 10, 75 x 10, 75 x 10, 85 x 10, 75 x 9…the tenth rep got stuck half way up and would go no further

2b. seated cable rows (being sure to use momentum rather than staying upright)

70 x 12, 90 x 12, 100 x 12, 100 x 12, 100 x 12

2c. single arm overhead kettle bell carry

10 kg x 4 lengths each, 12 kg x 4 lengths each, 12 kg x 4, 12 kg x 4

Knowing how much these sucked recently, I just about groaned when Michael said he wanted me to do these today; however, they were so much easier without the push presses first!

3. chest-supported rear laterals

8 lb dumbbells x 15

(Fever Dream by Douglas Preston & Lincoln Child)

Leave a Reply

