Angela’s Ashes

My neck has been driving me crazy for the past few days. It’s been bad enough that the urge to crack my own neck has been very strong, but I have worked hard to break that bad habit. I wasn’t scheduled to see my chiropractor for another two and a half weeks, and as much as I like my chiropractor, I wasn’t keen on seeing him sooner than planned. However, it was either see Ben or go crazy trying to resist the need to crank on my neck. So I went and he twisted me up good. It wasn’t exactly the most enjoyable adjustment, but I was surprised to learn that I had a rib out of place. I think it surprised my chiropractor, too. I can’t say that I’ve ever had a rib out of place before! It sure hurt being put back in place, and I’ve been warned that it will probably be sore for a couple of days. I think I will need to remember that, because I’ve already had a moment where I forgot. I came home from the gym, started dishing up my dinner and wondered why my upper back was so sore on the left side. It took me all of 3 seconds to remember that I had a rib put back in place. How on earth did it get out in the first place?

1a. safety bar squats

75 x 10, 125 x 10, 145 x 10, 165 x 10, 170 x 10

We were going to try for a set of 20 reps on the final set at 170, although there was no pressure to complete 20 reps if I didn’t have it in me. I was up for the challenge though, so long as I could take the time to breathe and rest between reps. The previous sets were a little faster with less resting. Michael told me to rack the bar after the tenth rep on that final set and I wasn’t going to argue. The safety bar sucks. That’s my story. But I’m not frustrated that I wasn’t up to the challenge…not this time anyway! 😉 I do like a challenge, but I think I am smart enough, most of the time, to respect my limits. That final set was still an improvement over last week’s weight and reps!

1b. dumbbell incline presses

20 lbs x 10, 25 lbs x 10, 29 lbs x 9, 29 lbs x 10

These were so much better today! My positioning was really good, and my hands and elbows were well-aligned.

1c. TRX rows

x 10, x 10, x 10, x 8 each side

The first three sets were quite easy, but Michael told me to do single-arm rows for the final set. I’m sure I raised an eyebrow at that, but I’m always willing to try, even when I think that I couldn’t possible do it. Well, surprise, surprise! It was easier than I thought it would be. I guess this is one reason why I appreciate having my trainer, because there is an awful lot of things that I would never do simply because I would never believe that I could!

2a. safety bar split squats

75 x 4 each, 100 x 10 each, 100 x 10 each

These sucked. Big time. I hate the safety bar right now. My legs were already feeling shaky from the squats, and the safety bar forced me to fight for balance with every rep. My calves threatened to cramp during the second set. The final set was pure torture.

2b. Zercher sand bag carries

Michael handed me one large sandbag and then threw a smaller one on top. I managed 3 lengths, but my lower back wasn’t happy. Michael took the smaller bag off and I finished one more length. The weight of the large sandbag was 69 pounds. We didn’t weight the smaller one, but it was between 20-30 pounds.

The second set started off with both sandbags again with the instruction to lock down my abs. I tried to make sure I was doing that, but the lower back still wasn’t happy. One length with both bags, 4 lengths with just the large bag.

Obviously both bags was too much load for me, so the final set was just the large bag for 5 lengths.

1c. battling ropes

x 1 minute-ish, x 1 minute-ish with some squats thrown in (evil trainer!), x 1 minute-ish with lunges thrown in, because I obviously hadn’t killed my legs enough.

I have a feeling that stairs are going to be my nemesis tomorrow. Just walking up the stairs when I got home from the gym was bad enough. I just might be dying.

Leave a Reply

