Falling Back…Springing Forward

After a week and a half of low mood and crappy attitude, I think I have finally snapped out of my funk. Today was a really good day!

Work started off slow but with lots of laughs. It was nice to wear something different from the work uniform. It wasn’t a perfect work day, but I still didn’t panic when I saw a big-wig walk in. Although we seldom know when to expect an inspection, I had a feeling that there might be one today, and I was right. Of course, the inspection was during the crazy time of the day, but we did pretty good and earned ourselves a little bonus for the good result.

While I was at work, my kitchen window was taken out and replaced with a newer, slightly bigger window. This wasn’t a part of our original plan, but it made sense to make the change now rather than regret not doing it later. Not much more progress has been made in the kitchen yet, but I don’t feel quite so overwhelmed by it now. I suspect that my mood regarding this renovation will swing like a pendulum, back and forth, but I am glad to be on the upswing.

After work I enjoyed some time with a friend. It was really quite nice to just sit, sip my coffee, and catch up on each other’s lives over the past two weeks. There is tremendous value in spending time with friends, even relatively new ones.

Speaking of the value of friends, talking about my mood yesterday with my trainer was also a good thing. It doesn’t even really matter if Michael has any good advice for me or not (although he always does!), sometimes it helps just talking it out with someone who isn’t stuck in your mess. It isn’t much of a stretch to say that going to my training sessions is like therapy.

Tonight I look forward to an extra hour of sleep due to the time change. My body will probably still wake up between 3 and 4 AM, but I have the ability to roll over and not stress over an impending alarm. There may not be much to like about changing the clocks twice a year, but the extra hour of sleep is wonderful. Thankfully my kids are old enough to appreciate it, too.

So I am glad to fall back tonight and especially glad to be springing forward with my attitude!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.