Deadlifting Cardio

The day felt long, but that is probably due to the lower back being sore most of the morning and the headache that kept gaining strength. The hip was a little sore in the morning, too. But, and this is a big but, this afternoon I realized that I had no new muscle soreness! Ha! My body is finally adapting to the training changes. The back and the hip…those aren’t sore from training. I don’t want it to be true, but I suspect that the back soreness is the disc. The disc is causing the hip pain. It will get better. It has to get better.

1a. conventional deadlifts

95 x 10, 135 x 10, 165 x 10 Grip was an issue for most of this set, and I had to switch to mixed grip for the final 3 reps.

with straps, a single loop: 185 x 10, 195 x 8 This was supposed to be a set of 10, but Michael called it at 8. I’m sure I could have finished the set, but he’s the boss. I wasn’t complaining, but I appreciate the fact that he made sure to talk to me about it before I left the gym. He knows that I sometimes get frustrated with myself over missed reps or perceived weakness. I don’t think I was too bothered by that set being cut a bit short today, but then again I have been moody this week! 😉 Michael also had to remind me to breathe properly. I don’t know why everyone keeps telling me to breathe! Ha!

1b. floor press

43 x 10, 73 x 8 plus another 5 reps with the sling shot, 93 x 8

with sling shot: 103 x 8, 113 x 4 plus another 5

Using the sling shot is a new thing for me. The last set was a bit of a challenge, but I think it was mostly due to needing to familiarize myself with how the sling shot works and affects how I move. Some reps were good, some were okay, and some were quite ugly. The last set was broken up, because I was just struggling with the groove and lost a shoulder. It’s just something new, and I need to get used to it.

2a. box squats with deadlift focus (keep shins perpendicular, use more of a deadlift movement than a squat)

45 x 6, 115 x 8, 135 x 8 This last set was with a stance wider than my normal squat stance. Oh boy! That sure worked different muscles and made the task harder. Maybe I will feel some new muscle soreness again soon…

2b. Bulgarian split squats, prisoner style with hands behind my head and back tight

x 10 each leg x 2 sets

2c. Turkish get-ups

10 kg kettle bell x 2 reps each side. I was a little shaky for this set, but I haven’t done get-ups for a long time.

8 kg kettle bell x 3 reps each side. This set was much smoother. See! I just need to get used to the patterns and movements. The more I do something, the better I get at it. Oh wait. I shouldn’t really say that “out loud”, otherwise I might be instructed to do the things that I don’t like very much more often. Just kidding…sort of. Doing the things that are difficult makes for a stronger me, right? I believe that to be true, so I guess I will do whatever is thrown my way.

And like always, I left the gym in a better mood than when I arrived. The headache has settled down to a dull throb. The back and the hip are still a little sore but no more than before the gym. It’s almost bedtime. Tomorrow I get to be Wonder Woman! It has to be a better day.

Leave a Reply

