Quad Only Knows

My quads have been really sore since yesterday. Walking has been a little uncomfortable, but the legs have been worse although not for a while. But a bit of soreness won’t keep me from training.

1a. safety bar squats

75 x 7, 125 x 5, 145 x 8, 155 x 8, 155 x 8, 160 x 8

The sore quads made these feel kind of tough, but my speed was still pretty good.

1b. incline bench press

45 x 8, 65 x 8, 65 x 8, 70 x 8, 70 x 8

2a. safety bar walking lunges

75 x 16 steps, 85 x 16, 85 x 6 steps then I had to hold the bar while Michael added another 10 pounds for the final 10 steps

2b. incline crunches

x 8, x 8, x 4 + 3 straightening my legs on the descent

2c. kettle bell swings

16kg x 15, 20kg x 20, 24kg x 20

These were done with a little more knee bend than normal, so that they became an assistance move for my deadlift. I don’t mind kettle bell swings, but I have to say that doing these swings gave me mental flashbacks to doing the 10, 000 swing challenge. That wasn’t exactly a pleasant feeling memory.

3. trap bar farmer’s walk

165 x 4 lengths of the gym x 3 sets

I had to “deadlift” the bar at the start of each length. No chalk. The first set wasn’t too bad. The second set was okay. My grip, especially the left hand, was really struggling during the last set. I was almost jogging for the final length in order to reach the finish line before I dropped the bar.

Run tomorrow after work? That’s the plan…

Leave a Reply

