The Week of Pain

Week one of post-competition training is now complete, and it has been a good one. Good, that is, if you enjoy changing things up, getting your cardio on, and feeling some pain. Okay, I do! I am not afraid of change or cardio, and, while I may groan and whimper when my muscles ache, I really don’t mind the temporary discomfort. Hard work doesn’t scare me, and that’s a good thing because it has been hard work all week!

1a. sumo deadlifts

95 x 6, 135 x 10, 155 x 10

with straps: 175 x 8, 175 x 8

It’s been a while since I’ve done sumo deadlifts, but we’re going to be working them for a while. These weren’t really very heavy yet, because Michael wants me to work on creating proper tension. For not having done a lot of sumo and not for a while, these actually felt pretty good. I didn’t breathe very well for one of the later sets. You know my breathing was seriously compromised if I say that I didn’t breathe enough! My trainer and chiropractor are always telling me to breathe, but it isn’t often that I admit to needing to breathe more.

1b. floor press using a thick bar

75 x 10, 90 x 10, 100 x 8, 100 x 5 plus 2 reps with a thumb-less grip, 90 x 6

This was my first time ever using the thick bar. For the most part, these were okay. The second set at 100 pounds was cut short by some discomfort in the thumb area. Michael had me try a couple of reps with a thumb-less grip. Those reps felt better, but they were much tougher. Dropping the weight for the final set felt okay. It’s probably just a case of needing to get used to the thicker bar.

2a. front squats

75 x 6, 95 x 3, 115 x 6, 125 x 6

I like front squats, but it has been a while since I’ve done these, too. These felt pretty good and fairly easy today, except for the choking sensation and the fact that the deadlifts had already provided more cardio than I’m used to doing these days.

2b. parallette L-sits

I did four sets of these without any official timer. Each set felt like an eternity, but the first three sets probably actually lasted between 6-10 seconds. The final set was maybe 4 seconds.

3. front rack lunges, stepping back

75 x 16 x 2 sets

I don’t think I’ve done these before. The second set definitely felt a little smoother than the first, but I was feeling the fatigue. More cardio!

If I wasn’t already wiped out from my work day, then my training session most definitely finished me off. Without a doubt, I will have new sore muscles tomorrow. I am reasonably certain that just about every muscle in my body will have been sore at some point this week with my face muscles the only exception. At least I should sleep well tonight, so long as I don’t have to change position too often.

Leave a Reply

