Here I Go Again

I could get used to waking up around 7:00 each morning to the gentle sound of my sleep app alarm instead of the loud blare of my real alarm between 3:00 and 4:00 most mornings! I just wish that my body would know the difference between a work day and a day off, so that it would just continue to sleep past that early morning time.

I annoyed my daughter this morning, because I was happy, excited and energetic this morning and a little goofy, singing random songs loudly and quite badly. She isn’t a morning person, but I am not a morning person either. Not really. I’ve just adapted. And I am super excited about my weekend.

Normally I train on a Wednesday, but yesterday’s training session got moved to this morning. Monday’s session was bumped to Tuesday because of the wedding I attended on the Monday, so it made more sense to move yesterday’s session in light of the fact that I am not training tomorrow and the competition is on Saturday. Not that today’s training session was strenuous…it was all about going through the motions, keeping patterns well-grooved.

1a. squats

45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 160 x 3

with belt: 180 x 2 but treated like singles with Michael calling out the commands

Squats felt good. Bar path was good. Speed was good. Depth was good.

1b. bench press

43 x 8, 73 x 5, 90 x 4, 100 x 2, 105 x 1

Bench felt good. Bar path was good. Speed was good. I remembered to expand my chest and use my legs and grip the bar tightly.

2. deadlifts

73 x 8, 133 x 3, 183 x 1, 183 x 1

Deadlifts felt good. Bar path was good. Speed was good. The slight adjustment to hip height has really made a huge difference! Michael said I smirked during one of the singles at 183. I think I might have!

3a. chest-supported rear laterals

10 lb dumbbells x 12, x 13

3b. standing side laterals

10 lb dumbbells x 5, x 9

The first set did not feel good on my left shoulder at all. It was clicking and uncomfortable. Michael had me bend my elbows slightly on the second set, and that helped open the shoulder up and stop the noise and discomfort.

3c. dumbbell curls

15 lb x 15, x 15

That’s it, that’s all! Tomorrow we leave for Abbotsford. I’m not exactly sure when we will leave, but likely around noon or shortly after. We can enjoy a relaxing drive. I never fail to be awed by the beauty driving through the mountains on the way to the coast, and this time of year should be especially beautiful. Once we check into our hotel, we can relax some more, probably walk over to the neighbouring grocery store for some food supplies, and settle in for a good night’s sleep. Since I don’t need to worry about making weight, I can enjoy a hearty breakfast at Denny’s the next morning before heading to the venue for weigh-in. Then the fun begins!

* After more than a month of using song titles for blog post titles, I think today will be the last. It’s been fun doing that, and I might re-visit a similar theme in the future.

Leave a Reply

