Not Afraid

Competition is in 4 days, which means that training this week looks the same but different. I have only two training sessions this week. The weights aren’t super heavy, as it is more important to go through the motions, keeping the technique nailed down.

1a. squat

without belt: 45 x 8, 95 x 5, 135 x 5, 155 x 3

with belt: 175 x 3, 195 x 2, 195 x 2, 215 x 1

The squats themselves felt good. There was a rep here and there that pitched forward a little bit, but subsequent reps were better.

The left shoulder wasn’t so happy with the low bar today, but I just need to make it through to the end of the week. It’s not so bad that it will affect my performance, but it is bothersome enough to almost make me glad for the post-competition changes to my training.

1b. bench press

43 x 8, 70 x 5, 85 x 5, 100 x 3, 110 x 2 the first rep wasn’t the greatest but the second was better, 110 x 2 both reps were okayish, 115 x 1 not my fastest rep but it felt solid

2. deadlifts

without belt: 135 x 5, 165 x 2

Michael made a small tweak to my set up by having me start with my hips about an inch higher.

with belt: 185 x 2, 205 x 2, 225 x 1

It’s amazing how one inch can make such a big difference! Those reps with my hips just a little bit higher felt so good. The single at 225 was strong and fast and one of the easiest reps I have ever had in the gym. I’m so used to my training deadlifts feeling heavy and difficult, but these felt the exact opposite…makes me feel much more confident with my deadlift going into competition.

Leave a Reply

